AGRICULTURE 101 || "Stepping Up To Help The Agriculture Sector!"

20230108_160218_0000.png

"Agriculture shouldn't just be defined with 'tanim-tanim lang' [mere planting], it should be a sector providing the world's necessities."

This is what I always talks about during our "Agri-says."

Nowadays, a massive count of Filipino people are engaging into agriculture.

However, I ain't totally happy on their intentions because for me, it's not purely to help upon lifting up the said sector. Why? People, especially the youth, are aiming to work abroad under the agriculture sector because of the high salary ranging to five to six digits. Then, they will claim that they are "into agriculture." Yes, they are! But, not totally "for the agriculture." There's a big difference between the two and slowly and unknowingly, it is becoming a stigma.

In this blog, let's talk about how my Undergraduate Thesis will contribute to the agriculture sector in the Philippines.

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr.png

I, Futureagrcltrst, is a fourth year BS Agriculture student. Major in Crop Protection and specializing in Plant Pathology [anything about plant diseases].

As a BS Agriculture student, one of the major requirements to graduate is to finish an undergraduate thesis. And, it is basically the toughest among the requirements as it will take 2-years and up and students will have it individually.

In my case, I will not conduct an experimental study. Thus, it is my initial target and I already have an idea on what study to pursue. Hence, my former and current thesis advisors has different forte which is about "disease mapping, forecasting and bio-surveillance."

The studies mentioned above will not be undertaken inside the laboratory. Perhaps, working out with lots of geospatial softwares and field activities will be the focus.

The study to be pursued by me is about "Mapping the Extent of Damage of Anthracnose-Twister Disease of Onion." Our province is the leading producer of onion in Central Luzon, Philippines. And, my target study site is the second largest onion-producing area in our province.

It's hard, yes! It is difficult, yes! I will be working this study using GIS, Google Earth, NASA Earthdata, UTM, etcetera. Plus, I need to coordinate with the Local Government Unit, specifically with Municipal Agriculture Office.

In order to conduct this study, I must present it to the Department of Crop Protection first to garner their approvals. And, finally! The right time had arrived.

By Friday (01.06.2022), I along with my fellow students who also have the same study as to mine were scheduled for the presentation. In total, we are six under the Mapping Team.

Screenshot_2023_0108_115047.png

I prepared nine (9) copies of my thesis outline to be given to the panelists. Overall, I spent around PhP 750.00 ($13.51) for it including the foods for the panel.

While waiting for our turn, I am reviewing my parts and the answers to the possible questions to be asked by the panelists.

Screenshot_2023_0108_115833.png

Around 1 o'clock PM, our turn had come. I assigned myself for the introductory part and additional parts about:

  • Onion industry in the Philippines;
  • Importance of the Study;
  • Workflow of the Study;
  • Acquisition of Data Sets and Images; and
  • Hotspot Analysis.

Screenshot_2023_0108_120047.png

Among the six of us, I am the one who had discussed more. Here's the things that pissed me off during our presentation:

  • During the "Question and Answer", I also answered all of the questions because my colleagues had became mute.

Personally, I am not happy on what they've done as they instantly became that "pabuhat na mga ka-group."

  • I even became pissed when our advisor pinged my ex-crushie and said: "You did your best to lift up your presentation."

When in fact, he's almost silent and even asked a question as a response for the panelist's question. His response to the message? He thanked! For me, it's clearly a "favoritism" and "invalidating other's efforts [primarily mine]."

  • They didn't took notes of the panelist's questions and suggestions. Instead, I was informed that they'll just capture a photo of my notes.

What if I do not let them take a photo of it? I just want to be selfish sometimes because slowly, they're becoming a toxic and dependent thesis buddies. In my personal point-of-view, it's not healthy!

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr.png

Despite of the uncertainties, the presentation went well. Additionally, the panelist's suggestions had made the objectives of the study more better.

IMG_20230106_142226-01.jpeg

Before conducting the study, our individual papers will take series of consultations and revisions. Afterwards, will be requesting for approval. However, this will take 4-months and up. Thus, the possiblity to not graduation on-time increased. Although, I already accepted it to myself and even informed my parents last year. And, according to them:

" ... If you really can't finish it this semester, it's okay. Don't pressure yourself too much but still, make sure to finish your degree." - Futureagrcltrst's Mom, 2023.

So happy to have a supportive parents and who doesn't pressure their children in academics.

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr.png

CLOSING THOUGHTS

The onion industry in the Philippines continuously depletes because of existing and unresolved problems. One of the indicators is the high price of red and white onions due to low production and hoarding.

One of the most devastating disease of onion is known to be the "Anthracnose-Twister" [locally known as 'anthracs'], a disease-complex caused by fungal pathogens: Colletotrichum gloeosporioides and Gibberella moniliformis.

If I will be lucky to determine and locate the hotspot (origin) of this disease? I will be able to help the LGU to aid a more effective solutions and management approaches for the disease which will possibly contribute to increase up the production and supply of onion.

And so? GOOD LUCK TO YOU, FUTUREAGRCLTRST! Slay it in order to help the agriculture sector, primarily the farmers. 🍀
BLOG NO. 02 OF 2023
TITLE: AGRICULTURE 101 || "Stepping Up To Help The Agriculture Sector!"
DATE OF PUBLISHING: JANUARY 08, 2022

20220831_120332_0000.png

Sort:  

Congratulations on defending your thesis.
Your hard work paid off.
Your mom is indeed very supportive. I salute her.
God bless.

Congratulations @futureagrcltrst! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-12 - Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 last year  

@tipu curate