Surprises with quail eggs

in Agricultural Mindset6 months ago

Today I went to collect the eggs of my quails in the morning and I had a surprise. Always in the collections I have found strange eggs, some very brown, some very white, some without shells, some not very pigmented, and so on, that's all that happened, a pleasant surprise.

Today I had the biggest surprise, I didn't even have my glasses on and thought it was something else but as I got closer to the egg collecting tray I could tell it was an egg, a miniature egg. It is dark brown, its shell is hard, and it is a whole egg but in a small size.


IMG_20231022_075515.jpg

Here I can show you the difference in the colors, this is the small egg collected today next to another one that has all the characteristics of a normal quail egg.


IMG_20231022_075559.jpg

Here is the same small brown egg next to a white shell egg, which by the way has one side pummeled by the same quails, it is also a different egg but of regular size.


IMG_20231022_105422.jpg

Here they are all together so I can detail the different colors in the egg shells but all being regular content eggs.


IMG_20231022_105534.jpg

Although I have collected eggs of different shell colors there is always the typical color of quail egg shells. I have found that there is no internal difference in egg color when the eggshell is different than usual. As long as they are the same color inside I think they are suitable for human consumption.


IMG_20230507_125801.jpg

I have not noticed the difference in the contents, nor do I know what all these shell color changes are due to. All my quails receive the same vitamins in the water, and the same balanced feed according to the company that sells the special feed for laying quails. They also receive a daily ration of calcium which is supplied in their daily feed consisting of ground chicken egg shells.


IMG_20231022_105635.jpg

They are doing very well, without stress, with food, and water, in a cage without overcrowding and trays that are cleaned every 3 to 4 days to avoid the proliferation of insects and rodents.

Will the surprises keep coming? I don't know, but what I do know is that I am keeping an eye on all of them and their evolution.

At the moment I have 20 eggs in the incubator that will start to hatch from Tuesday. I hope I have no unpleasant surprises and that they all hatch very well.


IMG_20231022_115253.jpg

All photographs are my own taken with my Redmi Note9 phone.

@gertu de venezuela para el world.png

Sort:  

You Crack Us Up!

This Post Was Manually Curated by the FUN Curation Team.
Help reward #fun content creators by joining our curation trail on Hive.Vote.
Or Delegate Hive to @lolz.curate and earn LOLZ farming rewards.

Click to delegate 10, 25, 50, 100, or 1000 HP with HiveSigner.


YOU HAVE BEEN !PIMP SLAPPED!
Thank you for being an !LOLZ supporter.


You must be killin' it out here!
@lolz.pimp just slapped you with 10.000 PIMP, @gertu.
You earned 10.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 3/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Thank you for your support.

So great to see them producing so well. My father raised chickens when I was younger I don't recall them ever laying eggs without shells. Does that happen often?

I have a quail lost in the crowd, I don't know which one it is but she always gives me an unshelled egg. She must have a defect in her reproductive system, I don't know.
Thanks for your support.