Additions To The Golden D Homestead Garden: Cheap & Free!

Look what Mr Golden D found!

Over the holiday weekend, he happened to see this for sale online and on his way home from work Sunday, he met up with the seller... and it's here!

When he told me about, I was super excited! I've been wanting one like this (with wheels so it can be easily move around. I've seen some similar to this selling for quite a bit more, and the price of $40/USD was VERY acceptable to me.

He barely had it out of the bed of the pickup when I was turning on the hose with a bucket of soapy water at-hand so I could give it a good scrubbing; coronavirus and all the cobwebs had to be gone!

Within two hours I was outside in the sweltering heat of the afternoon transplanting some radicchio and sowing some marigold seeds in my hanging planters.

Needless to say, I have been using this new rolling gardening table every morning since it arrived on the homestead. I think it is missing a drawer or two, but that's fine; I have no issue with that.

And it is slightly sun-faded, but hey, it works just fine for what I need it to. And for the price we paid, it's well worth it.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

It's almost as if the Gods were smiling down upon me. I had seen someone in a forum who had posted about getting their new strawberry tier pot a few days ago and I looked to see how expensive these were. Now keep in mind I don't necessarily want to grow strawberries; I was more thinking about getting one for a "herb tier tower". But when I saw the prices they were selling for new... I stopped looking. They were quite expensive.

But low and behold, yesterday afternoon someone posted this on Facebook's marketplace in a group for FREE! Free? That's for me! I couldn't type fast enough a comment so that I could get to it before someone else did. And guess what? I'm picking it up this morning! It's located under a mile from our homestead! WIN-WIN!


strawberry pot.png

According to the Better Homes & Garden page:

Rethink the ordinary strawberry pot! Try planting herbs in the pocket for everyday enjoyment. The many planting pockets in a strawberry container are perfect for easy, fresh, grab-and-go herbs

Then I found this on the Fine Gardening website:

Growing Herbs in a Strawberry Pot
A strawberry pot is the perfect size for growing culinary herbs in a small space

So there you have it!
Perfect! And free!

While I'm not sure of the actual size (as it's not mentioned in the original post), if it's small enough I may use this indoors over the winter to continue growing and using fresh herbs year-round. I have three LARGE south-facing windows in my kitchen that get decent sunlight even in the winter months. By the image, I am assuming it's not a very large pot and will suit my needs perfectly.

Once I pick it up in a few hours I will determine which herbs to plant in it. Of course I'll pick my most used, and favorite ones.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png


Powerhousecreatives Exclusive Member's Signature made by @zord189

Sort:  

I just LOVE good finds like these! Way to go!

Of course no tag sales so far this year, and I sure do miss them!

Oh I know! I can't wait until I can go to a Goodwill store after this is done. So many people are purging their homes while they're home... so the local Goodwills, etc will (fingers crossed) be overloaded with GREAT deals!