Weeding my maize 🌽 Garden: Expecting harvest in two months


Hello great farmer, the feeder! it's a weeding season, it's not all about cultivating, farming demands hard work in taking care of the plants in, weeding is one of the most difficult thing to do as a farmer especially the subsistence which makes use of local tools and without weeding the farm, pests and diseases will attack and destroy the whole effort. I'm operating mixed cropping that's growing two or more crops simultaneously on the same piece of land but monocropping which is growing of a single crop year after year on the same land in the sense that I will cultivate maize first, allow it to grow before planting cassava and okra.

I have a maize 🌽 farm which I'm cultivating yearly, maize farm require so much carefulness first, it has to be be weeded three times before it is mature, the weeding weeding is three weeks after planting though it depends on the nature of the land, then the second weeding is after five weeks of planting and the last weeding is when it's almost at maturity, at this point, more soil will packed at the stem to prevent win from falling them down.

This is the second weeding of my maize farm, you can see how blossom it is because of timely weeding and manuring the plant promptly. The greenish leaves show how fertilized the soil is, I spread insecticide last week to prevent insect from attacking the maize plants. Though it took me two days to finish the weeding because the farm is a big size but just by the road side and very close to the house, I'm expecting to eat the first set of my corn🌽 in less than one month from now.

I love eating corn 🌽 that's why I don't joke with cultivating maize yearly and this land is mainly for maize plantation, I'm planning of cultivating another set immediately harvest that's late planting to still have fresh corn to eat. Thank you for visiting my blog, please appreciate and tell me if I can weed as well.

Sort:  

a lot of hard work. i am still looking for a garden but i can't wait to start once i have one.

have you considered mulching as alternative to weeding so you can spend the time doing other things in your garden?

blessings