You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Offgrid Lawn care Service here in Canada. Pay with Hive, LEO, Cub

Yeah .. it’s kind of tongue in cheek. My son is 16 and wants to start a lawn care business this summer ... he was looking at the cost of an ryobi battery operated mower and a good quality gas mower... both very expensive. Personally I have always used a Reel push mower and I like how I never have to buy gas for it. I’m cheap. So I told him he could buy his gas mower and we will have a competition where we offer our services in the neighborhood.... I will market my service as GREEN, no carbon, environmental, sustainable, no fossil fuels $159 Reel mower lawn cutting service and we will see who has the best Net Profit at the end of the summer. He will need to earn about $800 + gas to break even.

Sort:  

What an excellent teaching moment.

Also, he will need to cash out 1 share of his TSLA stock (he bought 5 shares 2 years ago) to buy his Lawn Mower. So I told him to keep track of the price he sells at and compare the gains at the end of the summer. 1 share of Tesla versus profit/loss from mowing lawns.

He might need lawncare / landscaper insurance or at least put some money aside in case he breaks any car Windows with flying rocks from the lawn mower. Or other property damage, accidents, liability etc .... He might need to retain a Lawyer. What are your fees like ?