The raw dragon fruit

I took these photographs about five months ago. The photographs are of raw dragon fruit. I picked these from a dragon fruit garden. About five months ago I had to go for job training at a place in Sonarpur for a study related job.

This place was located approximately 60 km from my home. This job training was conducted for seven consecutive days. I had to go back and forth from home every day. This job training was held at Sonarpur Crop-Shyamla Agricultural Science Center.

The campus of this agricultural science center was quite large. Inside the campus there were many flower gardens, fruit gardens, fish ponds, different types of crops cultivated in the land, livestock farms etc...

One day after seven days of training we had to go fishing in the pond. Although I did not go down to the pond that day. Many of my friends went down to the pond that day. I was standing on that pond watching the fishing scene when I saw this dragon fruit garden at a place next to the pond. I actually saw the dragon fruit garden for the first time that day. I've seen dragon fruit trees planted in tubs before but never gardened before.

At that time I got very curious and went inside the garden. I went and saw that the fruits were very small and unripe. I learned from the farmers who were working there that it would take a few more months for these fruits to mature.

When the dragon fruit matures, the color of the fruit turns pink. To talk about this fruit, it is a kind of fruit of Fonimansa species. The name of this fruit is different in different places such as Chinese people call it dragon pearl fruit, in Thailand this fruit is called dragon crystal. Also in Indonesia and Malaysia this fruit is called dragon fruit. This fruit has many medicinal properties. Eating this fruit reduces the risk of diseases such as cancer, diabetes and Alzheimer's. Consuming this fruit increases the growth of good bacteria in the body. This fruit is rich in fiber and helps us a lot in digestion process.