Back To The Drawing Board

in Proof of Brain10 days ago

image.png
image

Ever heard of the saying back to the drawing board? back to square one?
Gotta start over?
I joined these blogging platforms due to unemployment and no jobs being neurodiverse friendly. At the time, I blogged about autism and how it would complicate getting/keeping a job. I might go back to autism content and Kofi supporters get early/exclusive access.
In 2018-2020, I struggled to earn on my posts. I would spend so much time typing up a blog post, editing a video, etc only to get 1 penny.
I think this is why folks might start posting low-effort content
they could think "Why spend so much time on this painting only for no one to even notice."

Then my earnings picked up in late 2020. I guessed since I started upgrading my gear for YouTube, people noticed a quality difference.
Since maybe late last year, I am back to square one getting 1-5 cents a post and if I am lucky, a post takes off. My earnings going back to how they were pre-COVID came at the worst time since having to give my grandma 125 dollars of my already limited funds, derailed my money situation. I could make most of the money back until the massive drop. Maybe it's time for another upgrade? We needed a new heating system in a hurry and the 125 is helping my grandma pay it off.

image.png
image

If you are not interested in the content or I said something wrong, quietly
withdrawing your support is not telling me you don't like the content.

You are going to engage with content that interests you.

For example, an ex-follower harassed me for being "ungrateful" after a post did better than I thought. I did not realize the post did better than I thought it did. Instead of automatically assuming I knew, they could have said, "Hey, this post got 1.60 credits, do more like this." I told them I didn't know and missed the alert. Instead of saying "I didn't know you didn't know, my bad" they were snarky.

At times, my video views will drop during busy times. I will chalk it up to it being a busy time and not people losing interest. I don't want to deviate from the content I don't normally do, go viral then people don't engage with my content topic.

You're not going to like every single game I play. I am aware of that. However unless you verbally tell me, I will have no idea. At least if you tell me the game isn't your cup of tea, I will know to upload said game less or mix up the games I upload.
That's all I wanted from the person who harassed me, communication as to what content you wanna see from me so I know what to add. All I ask for is "You should try so and so game, it's like Grand Theft Auto, and you might like it"

image.png
image

Someone who wants to know what their audience wants should tell you "ok this person wants to know what we want, I like that. I like content creators who seek feedback from their audience. They may not be able to play every game, but at least they're willing to try something" not put a target on my back for harassment."

I feel I am seen differently since I need this for work as a chronically ill person, this allows me flexibility allows me to take time off for flares, and adjust my schedule based on my spoons that day. I mean if someone didn't know that's why I depend on these platforms, they assume I am greedy and I get harassment. I can't tell who is new and who isn't.

I have tried on several occasions to kick-start other things because I am not, by choice, putting my eggs in one basket. This is why you don't put your eggs in one basket.
I tried affiliate marketing and got fed up with making accounts on Amazon Associates. They give you 6 months to make 3 qualifying sales or your application is automatically rejected and your account is closed.
I tried making merch, and doing printable on-demand (POD) art since I don't have the budget to get things made, shipping, etc. I also don't wanna risk investing in something I can't guarantee I will sell.
I can't get sales on my POD art. When it's hard as a small creator to get monetary support, it seems like ad monetization is the only way we can monetize our passion. People can support you for free if they have no money to buy your art.
I want to add Kofi/Patreon is not giving me money on a silver platter. I have to offer exclusive perks/content for people to subscribe to.

It's like subscribing to Netflix to watch the series exclusive to the platform.

I can't just take money from you for nothing on Kofi. It's not a charity, I promote it when I need help so I can provide a service in return at least.

I am trying to experiment with different content to prevent people from getting bored. To Throw in something different.
Nonetheless, I am back to the drawing board to figure out what I must do to get out of the slump. It's gonna take time to figure it out.