You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You cannot take away from the author that which does not belong to the author.

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

A better idea would be that the same account's downvotes on a certain account lose value for a certain amount of time and/or enter diminishing returns after the first downvote. Easy example, account A's first downvote on account B has 100% weight, but downvote #2 in the same week only 50%, #3 only 25% and #4 only 12.5% while downvote #5 goes to 0 and you have to wait a week to be able to affect said author again. We had diminishing returns on upvotes back in the day and tried them for a while but people just switched to sockpuppets, but wondering how it could work against malicious downvotes in comparison.

Sort:  

That sounds like an option that might be viable and worth trying. It would deter malicious voting unless they use multiple accounts. Part of why I rarely recommend a solution is because any solution I think of is easily circumvented just by using multiple accounts.

90% of the time people always forget sybil attacks.

Yeah it is one of the first questions I started asking. Can I bypass this with multiple accounts. It is the main reason I don't usually offer solutions because all of them I can think of can be bypassed this way.

Doesn't it work like that already? I was chasing a couple of accounts not too long ago that would delete old posts and then republish in the POB frontend under new names. It took me a long time to recover my DV power that week.

Your query on malicious DV'ing would work well, I think. If someone posts daily and gets rewards zeroed daily (assuming it isn't justified) it would prevent some continuous DVs from occurring. Though I don't know it would be effective against DV trails.


Posted via proofofbrain.io