Being grateful to my Grand & Great Grandfather on Rememberance Day

in Proof of Brain2 years ago (edited)

Recently my sister spent a few days at my house and we spent a lot of that time talking about our family history and heritage. We shared the same mother who came from a line of very strong, patriotic men. Both my Grandfather and my Great Grandfather were soldiers in WWI and WWII.

While I unfortunately never met either of them and I am extremely sad about that, I believe that my grandfather was someone I probably would have got along with well. Both of them were extremely honourable, strong and brave men. They had the finest qualities that I could only dream of having and I would have learned so much from them.

Picture 3062.jpg
The commendation awarded to my grandfather


Yesterday in commemoration, I lit a few candles for my forefathers and spent a long time thinking about what these qualities look like today - we don't live in the same world that they were in. Society is not what it was then. Things are very different, but those qualities shouldn't have changed. While I am no longer patriotic for my country because of the corruption, greed and pillaging that the government here has spearheaded, I am still patriotic towards my kin, my people - those that I love and hold dear and I believe that back then, that was what it was all about underneath. The men went off to fight in the trenches not knowing if they would return but they fought for their families back home.



Picture 3063.jpg
My grandfather shortly after he enlisted

While I have done things in my life that I consider to have been honourable in the protection of my daughter, they still pale in comparison to what these men gave up in order to keep their families safe. I will never forget and I will pass these down to Lory so she knows and always remembers.

The utmost respect to these brave men and all veterans around the world for your selfless acts of sacrifice and courage. I am humbled by everything you have done for your fellow man, woman and child. Thank you all.

Divider 1.png

Sort:  

Hey ya. Thanks for sharing that, I think I get it.

I'm not the 'Love it or leave it guy' but I am also not the 'My country right or wrong guy.' I am, however, very appreciative of all those who have raised their hands and done what needs be done.

My mother's family has sent sons and daughters to war (and to peace, for that matter) since before the Revolution. They were almost all 'citizen soldiers (and sailors)' that volunteered, did their time, and came home.

My Grandfather went round the world on the original battleship Iowa. His father rode with the 7th Calvary and came home to be a grocer. His father moved his family from Virginia to join the 110th Illinois in the Civil War. Also a grocer. His father lived in a rare period of peace in America, but his grandfather fought in the Revolution and the French and Indian war.

All of them came home to live in peace and raise their families.

I salute your grandfather with the honor and respect he deserves, although, I am sure he would tell you that he was only doing his duty and it was an honor.

I still believe that you can be/feel patriotic toward your country by creating that same feeling of sameness with like-minded people. I do not like what they are doing here in the United States, but, there are people here that feel that same sense of national pride.

While I am not explaining myself well, I do understand that yesteryear had a different mentality, but, also, different times. Having a tour in the military, in war or peace was a given that young men willing did. It was their duty that was a right of passage. Today, we must make it a law to enlist, as they would not do so otherwise,

Oh, the times have changed. Where have all the real men gone?

Hi Denise

Thanks for the message. Yes, I am sure he would be so humble and say he was doing his duty. I don't doubt it for a second actually.

I still believe that you can be/feel patriotic toward your country by creating that same feeling of sameness with like-minded people. I do not like what they are doing here in the United States, but, there are people here that feel that same sense of national pride.

I agree and I think this is what my sister and I did when we were chatting about our mother and her forefathers, although when my Grandfather and Great Grandfather were alive, South Africa was also still part of the Common Wealth which I think also came with a slightly different meaning, feeling and bestowed sense of duty. I'm not one for kings and queens but I'm not entirely sure if this country is in a better position since we gained our independence and sovereignty - I could possibly be lynched for saying that but if I look at the state of our army now, unfortunately it is vastly different to back then and not in a good way. I could go on and on, but I know you and I are on the same page so I won't.

I'll continue to be grateful to my forefathers until my last days.

Anyway, have a good day and I hope you do something lovely this weekend. Go spoil yourself with some flowers :)

Cheers
Andy

Grateful is the only thing we can be. I agree. Have a wonderful Sunday!