[ EN | PT ] caffeine tolerance: your life is too fast - Tolerância a cafeína: sua vida está muito rápida

in Proof of Brain11 months ago

Banner

Pixabay

Today we're going to talk about something that everyone likes, but that had a lot of consequences for me both as a professional and as an individual. I basically became addicted to caffeine, as a cup of coffee was more than enough to give me extra energy at work and make me work better. And this is where my problem begins.

I started working at 14 years old. Whenever I needed a boost at work, I had coffee. After a while, the dose increased and the time between cups decreased, until I got to the point where I was drinking about 12 cups a day in all. The short-term and long-term effects were very serious, and I consider myself lucky that I survived that period, since, despite being a drug that nobody talks about much, it is an extremely difficult drug to deal with, since your source of income it becomes dependent on how much caffeine you've had in a day.

To give some context, some common effects of too much caffeine are shakiness, headache, sleeplessness, and frequent and severe heart palpitations, and once you've entered the chemical dependency stage, you'll start to experience less of these symptoms, but You will experience symptoms of a lack of caffeine, such as shakiness, irritability, permanent drowsiness, and the inability to concentrate without a cup of coffee. Despite sounding cute (after all, it's coffee, not a hard drug), caffeine dependence can bring serious long-term problems (many undocumented), such as increased heart risk, stomach and intestinal problems, nerve problems and demineralization bone.

I've had all these problems (and I still have some, as I've never been able to get rid of caffeine), so I can prove that caffeine use is not only harmful, but harmful. I drank to the point where I got shaky and couldn't sleep more than 4 hours a night, I had severe mood swings and when I didn't drink I felt exhausted and had a lot of headaches. It took months for me to get back to the normal amount of coffee for the average person, and I still can't get the same boosting effect from caffeine as I did before.

It makes me sad to see people romanticize “work until you drop” and “keep working after hours on caffeine” just because you want to prove how hard you are while slowly becoming addicted to a drug that will gradually make you incapable to work without being under the effect of it.

Never forget: if your life is going too fast, maybe it's time to take a break and get some air. It's okay to have a cup, but having five to twelve in a day might be overkill.


Banner

Pixabay

Hoje vamos falar sobre algo que todo mundo gosta, mas que trouxe muitas consequências para mim tanto como profissional quanto como indivíduo. Eu, basicamente, me tornei dependente da cafeína, já que uma xícara de café era mais que o suficiente para me dar uma energia extra no trabalho e me fazer trabalhar melhor. E é aí que começa meu problema.

Eu comecei a trabalhar aos 14 anos. Sempre que eu precisava de um up no trabalho, eu tomava um café. Depois de um tempo, a dose aumentou e o tempo entre uma xícara e outra diminuiu, até chegar ao ponto onde eu tomava cerca de 12 xícaras por dia ao todo. Os efeitos a curto e longo prazo foram muito graves, e considero até sorte eu ter sobrevivido a esse período, já que, apesar de ser uma droga que ninguém fala muito, é uma droga extremamente difícil de se lidar, já que sua fonte de renda se torna dependente da quantidade de cafeína que você tomou em um dia.

Para dar um pouco de contexto, alguns efeitos comuns do excesso de cafeína são tremores, dor de cabeça, insônia e palpitações fortes e frequentes no coração, e, quando entrou no estágio de dependência química, você vai passar a ter esses sintomas reduzidos, mas vai ter sintomas na falta de cafeína, como tremores, irritabilidade, uma sonolência permanente e a incapacidade de se concentrar sem uma xícara de café. Apesar de parecer engraçadinho (afinal, é café, e não uma droga pesada), a dependência de cafeína pode trazer graves problemas a longo prazo (muitos não documentados), como aumento de risco cardíaco, problemas estomacais e intestinais, problemas de nervos e desmineralização óssea.

Eu já tive esses problemas todos (e ainda tenho alguns, já que nunca consegui me livrar da cafeína), então posso comprovar que o uso de cafeína não só pode como traz malefícios. Eu bebia ao ponto de ter tremores e não conseguir dormir mais de 4 horas por noite, tinha graves oscilações de humor e quando não tomava me sentia exausto e com muitas dores de cabeça. Demorou meses para eu voltar para a quantidade normal de café para uma pessoa comum, e ainda assim eu não consigo mais ter o mesmo efeito potencializador da cafeína como tinha antes.

Chega a me deixar triste ver pessoas romantizando “trabalhar até cair” e “continuar trabalhando depois do horário na base da cafeína” apenas porque quer provar o quanto que é esforçado enquanto lentamente se torna dependente químico de uma droga que vai te tornar aos poucos incapaz de trabalhar sem estar sob efeito da mesma.

Nunca se esqueça: se sua vida está rápida demais, talvez seja hora de fazer uma pausa e tomar um ar. Tá tudo bem tomar uma xícara, mas tomar cinco a doze em um dia talvez seja um exagero.

Sort:  

Obrigado por promover a Língua Portuguesa em suas postagens.

Vamos seguir fortalecendo a comunidade lusófona dentro da Hive.

Metade das recompensas dessa resposta serão destinadas ao autor do post.

Vote no @perfilbrasil para Testemunha Hive.


Your post was manually curated by @KaibaGT.
banner_hiver_br_01.png

Delegate your HP to the hive-br.voter account and earn Hive daily!

🔹 Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting! 🔹

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @arthursiq5.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more