Firemen Saving Bees In Our Street 🐝

The boyfriend and I went on our evening walk and as soon as we stepped out of the door, we saw a fire engine in our street.

And it had stopped just down the street.

So we immediately were intrigued and wondered what was going on!
A few of our neighbours were standing outside watching the spectacle so I asked them what was happening.
A beekeeper had escaped from the apiary and made a new beehive just across from her house in a tree and the firefighters were there to help her get the bees to safety.

image.png

IMG_7697.jpeg

WOW.

This does not happen often.
AT ALL.

(I actually asked one of the firemen and he said this is the very first time we're saving bees.)

And it just really touched me.

Because all of these people were coming together to save the bees!

These tiny little insects that are so vital to our existence.

All in all, it took about 20 minutes.

To get the fire engine up to the bees, cutting down the hive, coming down and then carefully putting the bees in the box (the ones that weren't already in the box)

IMG_7696.jpeg

IMG_7704.jpeg

IMG_7706.jpeg

IMG_7714.jpeg

It was fascinating.

To see 15,000 bees in one little box together.

To see the bees swarming around the beekeeper and the fireman.

It was a SPECTACLE!

I got the beekeeper's number and in about 6 weeks, I'll buy honey off her.

Honey that is made right on street I live on. How cool is that?!

I think I am going to gift myself (and the boyfriend) a beekeeper's course.

Not that we'll be able to have any bees now where we live (we unfortunately can't go onto our roof) but for in the future; when we have our farm house in the south of Spain!
Our dream that one day will become reality

This was an experience I'll never forget

Honestly, during this whole pandemic lockdown situation, this was a little bright shiny light in a storm of horribleness.
People coming together not under some horrible circumstances.
But just good ones.

I am touched.

Over and out,

Ashley

All photos made by me with my Iphone

image.png

Do you want to use super cool POB text dividers or POB marketing banners in your posts? Click the pink text, right click on the image you want and save it to your laptop/pc and voila! Free to use in your posts.


Posted via proofofbrain.io