A Walk in Search of Lotuses

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

Sunday was left for rest. Active rest, good for health. The most common active rest for me is walking. I always try to turn any trip into a walk, that is, not to think only about the purpose of the trip and to try to see what is around me.

Sunday, however, is just for a walk. Living in a big city, not having the possibility to walk through nature, the walk takes place in nature created for the city, in the park. Obviously, there are many parks, I have a few favorites and today I walked through the Circus Park in Bucharest. A park away from my house, so I visit it about once a month.

img_2956.jpg

The park is so named because of the Municipal Circus building, a building that looks like an unidentified flying object, as we have seen in several movies with aliens.

This is not why I usually come to this park. I like it and it is quite strange, it is arranged in a pit in the middle of the city, it seems to be the place left by a meteorite.

img_2894.jpg

The last week has been rainy and the vegetation has grown a lot, the park looks spectacular. I came with a purpose, beyond the walk are the photos. The others who are already in the park do sports, or work from a bench, and children, of course, children are the happiest to run on the grass. Idyllic images!

img_2875.jpg

img_2910.jpg

img_2954.jpg

The recent pandemic, so suddenly falling over our heads, made us all want to stay in the air and nature as much as possible, after months of lockdown. For those who live in cities, parks are a blessing.

In the middle of the park is a small pond.

img_2880.jpg

img_2960.jpg

img_2964.jpg

For me, the pond is the main reason I'm here.

The park was arranged on a place where, over one hundred and fifty years ago, there was a brick factory. The earth there was used to make the bricks, which was a very good clay. They dug by removing the necessary soil until they reached some springs. Sources that fed and formed this pond. Nothing special so far, most lakes and ponds have appeared like this.

But it is something special! Egyptian lotuses grow on this pond. Very strange. These plants live in the warm waters of the Nile delta and do not understand how they got here, where the climate is harsher, with very cold winters.

I came for a walk and saw if the lotuses had appeared on the surface of the water.

img_2885.jpg

img_2982.jpg

img_2872.jpg

Only a few leaves float on the surface of the water. It is still too early, in about a month I think they will bloom. I'm not sorry I don't see them yet, I know that when they are ready to bloom they will be spectacular. I'll show you a photo from last year.

img_7067.jpg

img_7073.jpg

When I see the few leaves on the surface of the water, it does not seem possible that in just one month the leaves and flowers will cover the entire surface of the pond.

These flowers are a totally incomprehensible appearance and I am surprised that my fellow citizens are not so attracted to their beauty and originality. Probably those who live nearby have become accustomed to them and the others, from now on, do not even know about their existence.

banner.gif

asxasx.jpg


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Such a great and beautiful place to get a walk. Mother nature is really awesome!

Yes, a place free of construction and concrete is enough, if we give enough time, nature will do the rest.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

The Lotus flowers really bring the pond alive don't they!! Beautiful :)

The Lotus flowers really bring the pond alive don't they!! Beautiful :)

The park looks nice and fresh. The UFO looks like a shellfish. 😎

Thank you! That's right, the building looks like a shellfish.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You're welcome.

Yours are splendid already! You are ahead of me. The water that is across the street from me has them, but, they don't usually get this big until maybe next month. Aren't they just such a treat to the eyes when they show off in full bloom like that? My water is filled with them and there is nary space for the ducks to swim.

What an odd-looking UFO in the middle of the city! :) A little eclectic, yes? It is raining here today, or maybe more overcast, I should say. The rain will come later. We haven't had much rain, and when it does, it has been in the night hours.

The growth with the rains is always amazing, everything green and lush and blooming. A wonderful sight for these eyes after the year of lockdown.

Thank you, Dan @bluemoon for sharing the beauty! Have a wonderful week!

I'm not in front of you at all. Once again it turns out that we live in a very similar climate! These photos from the end were taken last year, and they will bloom for me towards the end of next month.

Now we are also waiting for rain, the whole week should be rain. I'm not very happy because I'm going to Balchik on Thursday, I'm only 350 km away and I'm afraid the rain will get there too. We will see.

Thanks for visiting, always a pleasure for me. I hope you have a good week and enjoy, Denise (@dswigle)!

I feel so much better! I thought we were very similar, but, seeing those all bloomed out made me wonder how much ahead you were.

Our whole week should be rainy, but, it will probably change before the week is done.

How nice! Balchik! Bulgaria is such a nice option for you and the Black Sea is wonderful to get away to. I hope the rain is going the opposite way for you and you will get to enjoy your time there. Do you get to take your granddaughter?❤️ I hope it will be a nice, relaxing time for you. You deserve it.