Beauty In Friendship

20210830_200924.jpg

I've had few friends in my whole life time and I must say friendship is an amazing thing. When I say amazing, it doesn't mean they're no ups and downs. Of course they're, but what makes it amazing is the ability to scale through all the many challenges.

Friendship hadn't been a thing for me growing up because I had very strict parents and we were always locked indoors. At a teenage age I could count my friends and they were so little. Of course I knew a lot of people, that was what school was for but not all of them were qualified to be my friends. Not like I was choosey or discrimated against anybody but I believed that you are who you associate with.

Meeting a lot of people and getting to experience different behaviors, beliefs and way of life can be really beautiful but at the same time hard.

I grew up with a certain distrust for people because of stories I had heard over time from my parents. I always ended up creating a wall between me and other people because I was scared of being hurt. But all this while I had no idea what I was missing, I didn't experience a lot of stuffs little children actually did with their friends. I didn't know how to play video games till later in life, I can't ride a bike, I'm not good with friendship handshakes and all those things friends do, and I must say it really shaped me into the adult I am today.

PicsArt_08-30-08.11.18.jpgmy friend Victor

The first person I really opened up to was a certain Victor Dominic and I must say it started off as envy at first. This guy is one of the most handsome guys I know, we met at an holiday coaching and he was easily the hottest guy in the school. Adding to the whole thing, he was their best striker and was very smart too so I felt he carried a certain arrogance with him.

With time though I got to know him because I was also a die hard lover of football, so we ended up playing together and therefore created a bond. Before long I started going to his house to play video games, he opened me up to a world of socializing. Victor Dominic was way different from the other people I had ever met in my life, he was a human right activist who stood up to bullies,lol and always said things as they where, he even became by personal body guard and the elder brother I never had. The man taught me a lot even if he was younger than me, for once I could trust someone and that wall was broken.

We became brothers, his mom embraced me as her son and really took care of me. They were times when our friendship was threatened by different things one of which were the numerous beautiful girls we had eyes on. But surprisingly we handled it like it was a piece of cake. Any time he declared interest for a girl, I let her go no matter how attracted I was to her and he also did likewise. That's where I discovered that you'll have to be ready to make sacrifices for something you really love.

We ended up making more sacrifices too because we had to give out some of our favourite things to each other. I felt uncomfortable with it at first but then I eventually got used to it. I'll go to his house and see a shirt I loved, we'll playfully fight over if I'll take it or not but I always ended up taking it.

Not all friendships are like the ones I just talked about above so you'll have to be really careful. I once had an opportunity to be in a toxic friendship and this guy almost broke me. He had a lot of negativity about him and anytime I was with me I found myself being depressed and hopeless. I made wrong decisions and almost paid dearly for it, I almost saw myself smoking, I became a party freak and I must say it was the worst experiences in my life. I remember the post @mineopoly made about companion and about what you'll do if you're riding with a bad companion, this was a clear case of it. I soon had to cut him off and left the care with him in it to look for greener pastures.

Don't be mistaken though, friendship doesn't always only exist among strangers. I've noticed that most parents fail at being friends with their children and that gives room for other unnatural friendships. It wouldn't hurt if you played video games with your child or gisted at length with your little girl or took your children to a park and have a lot of fun with them. As little as it may look it ends up shaping that child in a lot of areas. They're a lot of predators posing to be friends and preying on innocent individuals because that person has no idea what true friendship feels like.

A friend sees sense in your foolishness, that friend stands up for you, and is always there for you, keeps your secrets, advises you and so on, the list is endless. There's nothing that beats friendship and a good relationship is nothing without friendship. I've noticed that the best marriages today are between two people who are friends.

Friendship is indeed amazing.

Have you ever been friends with anyone before?

If yes, what was your experience like?.

It's really been a while, I must say I miss this space. Thank you for taking time to read this.
The pictures were edited by me using pixellab and pics art.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Friendship is more beautiful when you are with the right person...

I had a friend like yours, he aas an angel in human form, I had good memories with him, he knows so much about me and I always feel free telling him everything about me either good or bad..

They were times when our friendship was threatened by different things one of which were the numerous beautiful girls we had eyes on. But surprisingly we handled it like it was a piece of cake. Any time he declared interest for a girl, I let her go no matter how attracted I was to her and he also did likewise

This also happened to me and didn't bother, he let a girl he has been nursing feelings for just when I told her I like the girl and he didn't mention it to me until I asked the girl out and he made sure I got her..

We did all together, I can't forget when went to an eatery with our girlfriends, we had little cash with us that couldn't foot the bills for four so we had to take water insisting that we have eaten and we are full but I won't lie we were damn hungry.. 🤣🤣🤣

There's nothing that beats friendship and a good relationship is nothing without friendship. I've noticed that the best marriages today are between two people who are friends.

Very true, if only I can meet a lady who is as good as my friend, I will do anything to marry her, the best marriages are started as friendship not the see today and propose tomorrow type...

I really have a lot to say about him, I just wish i could use a voice record..

The summary of it is that, MY FRIEND JUSTICE IS A VERY NICE FRIEND AND A FRIEND TO KEEP


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Congratulations @chincoculbert! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

You have truly made a very good point, the need of finding a friendship I'm in a good friendship cannot be overemphasized, of course we know the beauty in friendships ranging from someone to confide in someone to share secrets with someone to lean on when things turns bad even someone to get help from when things seems to be difficult, so there are a lot benefits of true friend and that's actually the beauty of the friendship


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You know what I'm talking about. I'm glad you're experiencing it and I'm hoping you'll do everything you can to cherish such a wonderful friendship.


Posted via proofofbrain.io