LET THE CHILDREN COME: A VISIT TO TOPPERS SCHOOL

I've always admired little children, maybe because I feel they're pure in heart and most times they're really drawn to me. I remember growing up, I had the chance to carry little children that belonged to my aunt or the neighbors. Even though I was really skinny, I'll spend hours carrying them in my arms until they fell asleep. Always felt like an achievement especially because they ended up becoming really fond of me.

Anytime I see a little child with it's beautiful genuine smile and cheerful demeanor, I'm really impressed,and it'll take a lot of self discipline not to walk up to that child and say hello.

On Tuesday, I got a call from a friend of mine who's in Kaduna. She informed me pleading that her mom needed someone to teach kids in her school dance and I was the first person that came to her mind.

I was really impressed especially because someone could remember to recommend me when it was needed. Mixed with that feeling, I was a little scared because I haven't really had the opportunity to teach little kids dance.

It was a challenge and I really love challenges, so I agreed to do it. I wasn't really convinced with the level of my delivery yet, I guess I was really battling with my self esteem at first but I soon summoned courage.

Today came and I went to the school. Truthfully, it wasn't exactly like I expected, it was a little smaller than the picture I saw in my head but it didn't matter, I am already here, I said to myself.

I and the owner of the school spoke for a while and she intimated me that she hasn't actually paid for a dance instructor before, this was her first time, and she actually needed to see her school kids dance. With a smile on my face I told her I was up to the task and I was going to deliver. I could read from her expression that she wasn't really convinced.

IMG_20210730_083817.jpgView of them in class

Then, after our brief talk she took me around the school to introduce me to the children. You need to see the happy smiles on their faces when they heard they were going to be dancing. One little girl ran up to me and even asked me for my name, I was speechless at first because I could see the happiness in her eyes.

IMG_20210730_083921.jpgThey couldn't wait to come out and see their new dance tutor

I haven't felt this warm feeling in me in a while and I was really glad to be around children since the last time. I just had the chance to introduce the dance to them while the teachers selected the children that were good enough to do the dance. I asked for their names, there were actually different names and different personalities, some were shy, very articulate, outspoken, the gossips, the uninterested, lol I easily study personalities.

After I addressed them for while, I told them I was going, then that same girl ran up to me held me by the hand and asked,

"Uncle chinco, where are you coming back?"

I smiled and told her that it was going to be soon, then she smiled and hugged me. I must say it really touched me how amazing kids can be.

IMG_20210730_083902.jpgthey were eager to take pictures after class

I really can't wait to go back there and really connect with those kids as I teach them dance. Don't worry I'm going to be sharing every bit of my experience with you!!

Thank you for reading this little write up, God bless you 🥺🥺


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Congratulations @chincoculbert! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

This was me whenever I hear about Dance Class or Dance Period
Like wow! I remember all those days.
Just two days ago I was talking to someone about how I wanted to join dance group or crew after school but for some reason then, I couldn't.
I am crazy about dancing and apart from art and writing, I feel its another thing I have some talent in that just need some spur up lol

It's one of the things I do from the heart. But I just don't do it anywhere except its some kind of presentation, I am the shy type (story of my life)😂

I don't know why the teacher had that doubt registered on her face. But the only good thing is the lively spirit those children displayed.
I wish you the best in teaching and connecting with your new kids.

Wow, I just found someone who's as passionate about dance as I am. I love dance to my bones and can't go a day without dancing. If you actually want to join a crew, I surely can help you pull some strings and help you spur it up.

Lol, everyone was shy at some point in their life, you just need to expose yourself more. You'll get over it.

I don't know why the teacher had that doubt registered on her face.

Lol, I don't know too but I guess she's she's having some kind of doubt.
Children are amazing. They're always alive.

Thanks for taking your time to read about my experiences


Posted via proofofbrain.io

If you actually want to join a crew, I surely can help you pull some strings and help you spur it up.

I would want that.

Then... you'll have to add me up on whatsapp, let's talk. Or we'll talk here. Any one that suits you


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Okay no problem. On WhatsApp then

Wow children are lovely, to be with them you will really enjoy staying , you can never regret being with children, because all the time they do funny things.

children always love to see new faces in their school, even though if you notice if a new student join them in their school, they will love the students and make friends esaily.

because they love seeing new things, and they love anyone that show them care or who love to play with them.

Children are pure in hear at as you have said, they have free mind if you offend them or you beat them, just give them ten minutes they will still come back and play with you, they don't have mind to keep something.

I know children love cultural and dancing especially when they are preparing for their inter house sports or cultural day, they love all those things.

That is good I'll be expecting you to share or show us the dance


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Exactly, you tend to have a good time around them cuz they tend to surprise you one way or the other.

Children are pure in hear at as you have said, they have free mind if you offend them or you beat them, just give them ten minutes they will still come back and play with you, they don't have mind to keep something.

You couldn't have said it any better. They find no fault in you and they trust you without reason.

I'll be sure to share my experiences and probably post the video here.

Thank you for taking time to read and drop a genuine comment


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That is really special. It sounds like you have a natural affinity with children and a gift when it comes to nurturing relationships and self esteem in others. Believe in yourself my friend. You deserve to feel confident and accomplished. Would love to see some video clips of the dance sessions. The kids look so happy!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yes!, I love children and they soon easily come to love and trust me, I try my best to support and be there for people around me.

I surely will be way more confident now, thank you for believing in me. I'll try to upload some clips as I progress.
Thank you for stopping by 😊😊


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You are very welcome. I enjoy real people with real lives :-) Did you know that tomorrow is the 2nd Brain power up day contest. If you check out my reblogs you will see that I shared the details. Otherwise check out @felipejoys posts as the person running the contest. I will be entering for the first time tomorrow. It's a good way to engage and be in with a chance of earning a few tokens too and it incentivises powering up your POB. Hope to see you creating a post.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sure, I'll check it out, I'm glad you enlightened me on it.
You're a really great friend!


Posted via proofofbrain.io