You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Comment of the Week || Contest #5

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

It was the morning of July 17 2015,somewhere in northern Nigeria. I was in my second class,which had always piqued my interest and then suddenly,I began receiving calls from my nephew in the middle of class. I set my phone on mute profile, figuring I'd deal with it after class.

I went out after class had ended. Saw my elder brother approaching me, his face flushed with worry, as if something horrible had happened. I inquired as to what was wrong. 'Some terrorists have assaulted the school of Ugo,' he said (Ugo,was the name of my little brother). I still could not grasp the sensitivity of the situation and could not seem to shake off negative thoughts from my mind,but then i believed everything would be fine. My father picks us up and drives us straight to his school.

I'm standing outside the school's gate 20 minutes later. I'm surrounded by snipers and heavily armed soldiers. They all make me feel like a war is raging within
the school. When asked what happened, they only answer i could get was that terrorists had kidnapped some schoolchildren. I was quite relieved because I saw military personnel on ground. It'll going to work out. Shuffle!

One of my friends then contacts me an hour later,tells me to go to the state hospital, which is a local hospital in the region. I refused initially because I felt my brother was still inside the school, confined. However, my gut feeling was that he's hiding something from me.
Okay. I ask that we go over and check it out.

We're currently in the hospital. It's quite crowded. My father is scouring the hospital for my brother, and the hours are passing quickly.
After 30 minutes, I see him emerge. As soon as I saw his face, I felt comforted. 'Dad!' I exclaim. "Did you manage to find him?"
He summons the courage and said aloud, "He is dead." This phrase shatters me to the core, and I began to cry. I couldn't believe what I was hearing.

For the first time in my life, I see his face buried among the blood dripping from his clothes, and he appears to be content. I came to a halt to look at him, and believe me when I say that the peace on his face astounded me.

You know you're the unluckiest person on the planet when you're standing outside the school where terrorists are murdering your brother and you're unable to stop them. You feel as though your hands are chained, and there is nothing you can do to help your brother.

what I learned: Life is incredibly Uncertain!!!

#motivation

Sort:  

Not only uncertain but also unfair at times. I'm really sorry for your loss and I can understand it is too much to take and would have been so difficult for you and your family. Such incidents leave a scare for life.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yeah dear.
That is the life we find our selves in!
But its all about moving on and that's all we have been trynna do