Quality Time with my Breasts

in Proof of Brain2 years ago

I've been trying not to think about it.

The lump.

You don't have a diagnosis yet, I remind myself. It could easily be another bored and lonely fibrocystic bastard fucking with your lymph nodes. Just wait 'til you get the mammogram. Let the experts decide if you should worry.

DSC_2685.JPG

I've never had a mammogram. It sounds pleasant, like a candygram courier with a great rack, but the truth is when you open that door you don't get candy and cleavage, you get some stranger telling you to hold still while your tender innocent bosoms get crushed in a vice and you repress the urge to cry out while reminding yourself that this violation is voluntarily and for the greater good.
And you don't get a fucking lollipop afterwards, either, because you're forty-one, even though you'll cry like a four-year-old on the drive home.

So, yeah. Why worry? I'll just sit here in purgatory, picking my nose and staring out the window into the abyss, waiting for the day of judgment.
DSC_2690.JPG

I won't think about the breasts and the buts.

The BUT what if it is something?
and the
BUT what if I'm forced to measure the value of my breasts against the value of my life?

I love them both and I don't want to choose.

DSC_2693.JPG

"It was a no-brainer," said my friend with the double mastectomy.
It's not a no-brainer for me. These flamboyant flesh bags are a part of my whole self. I've never removed anything from my body except hair and nails and a useless mole.
Still got everything else. Teeth, tonsils, appendix, uterus.
Still got both ovaries, both kidneys.
Still got my gallbladder and dammit if I don't still got gall.

DSC_2697.JPG

I want to keep me. All of me. If I had to lose anything, my breasts would be last on the list.

I'd rather lose a finger.
DSC_2698 1.JPG

I think back on the petty disagreements we've had, my breasts and I. Fist fights and black eyes over jogging and speed bumps. Wrestling matches over sports bras and coat zippers; altercations that ultimately ended with me threatening a reduction and storming out of the room braless and shivering.

NEVER AGAIN, I tell my breasts.
DSC_2708.JPG

I think of the good times. The good things. There are many. Free drinks and flattery and other fun consequences of the girls' good looks. Cozy places to warm my fingers on windy winter nights. Perfect pillows for dog and man alike.

Me and these mamas have shared every experience since the moon first rose over my womanhood.

Have I taken them for granted?
DSC_2712.JPG

I don't care to contemplate how losing this part of my body would feel. But if it's in the cards, I don't want to miss out on the time we have left together.

DSC_2713.JPG
As I sit here in uncertainty, I try to ascertain just exactly how one goes about spending quality time with her breasts.

I ask them if they want anything. A pretty new bra? A night out on display? A good groping from the drunken hands of a bar patron at closing time?

They laugh.

Yes, my breasts laugh. They have a better sense of humor about this than I do.

"Fresh air and sunshine will do just fine," they answer placidly. "A little dust and some desert wind."

Anything for you, my loves. Anything for you.

Just don't leave me.

IMG_5499.jpg


instagram: @se_pdx_crows
Art in NFT Showroom (The above image is an NFT if you want a print.)

a percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community

All the stuff (pictures, words, etc.) I put in this post and any of my other posts is mine (unless otherwise stated) and can't be used by anyone else unless the girls and I say it's ok.

DSC_2686.JPG

You, yourself, as much as anyone in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.

--Buddha

Sort:  

WOW. So well done. How has this not gotten more attention on here?

Really really hope that lump's just nothin'. Fuck cancer.

P. S. Is that the Great Salt Lake and the Wasatch?

!BEER and !PIZZA

thaaaaaaaaaaaaanks!!!

It's Alvord Desert and the Steens. Went twice in three weeks. Post about that magic place coming soon. Will probably be more exciting than lumpy boobs for most people.

Tell Alvord Desert and the Steens they look a whole lot like the Great Salt Lake and the Wasatch.

Just did. They said maybe the Great Salt Lake and the Wasatch look like them. Obviously they don't know how to take a compliment.

It should get a little more soonish. Thanks for the share.

!PIZZA 👍

@tipu curate 2

Wishing you the best of luck with all of it. I had a similar issue last year, but it turned out alright. Not fun at all - it gets your mind spinning in lots of dark spirals. It always seems to take ages to get appointments and tests all scheduled out too, I hope yours are coming together quickly. Mammograms are terrible, but kind of freakishly interesting at the same time. Who knew that your breast could be compressed that much and still spring back, not staying a permanent pancake? And all the women standing in the waiting room in awkward hospital shirts, all pretending to listen to the horrible talk-show chatting away on the TV. It was a weird form of comradery.

Beautiful pictures. It looks like perfect peace out there.

Hahahaha thank you!! I feel both reassured and more terrified of the mammogram, now.
Imaging is fascinating, and I appreciate the reminder about that. It will be fun to see the insides of my boobs. Just a couple more weeks, unless they get a cancellation. Who knows why it takes so long to get in for pancake boob breakfast.
Love the imagery of the women in hospital shirts!! I look forward to checking out more of your writing.

Ha, sorry about adding to the terror. I think the intrigue from the whole experience outweighs the bad parts :)

If only they did serve pancakes and syrup as a reward afterward. Now that would be interesting.

Hope it all ends up well and, great shots too :)

Thanks so much for the kind words and stopping by!

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
brandt tipped corvidae (x1)
@brandt(2/9) tipped @tarazkp (x1)

Join us in Discord!

yeah party!!!!