Sidetracked: Understanding Ecency and Ecency "Points"

It has been about a month since I decided to "get my act together" and start blogging more regularly.

Of course, I have been blogging via a version of the Ecency front end, because the only working example of the Proof of Brain's community site is basically an Ecency clone, of sorts.

I suppose pretty much all web sites have their pluses, minuses and quirks... and it takes a while to become familiar with how they work.

I'm OK with that, even though I tend to be on the slow end of learning curves!

All in all, Ecency has a pretty decent interface for publishing posts, and I definitely appreciate that! After all, I'm about the writing, so I want that part of the social content experience to be easy. And it is.

What I particularly like is the fact that the publishing interface allows re-blogging directly, and in-line. I always like to share my posts to my feed, no matter which community I am using.

What is not as obvious — or easy to use — is clarity about just how this is actually a community front end.

Whereas it has its own URL at proofofbrain.blog it largely lacks the "standalone feel" of a Hive-Engine "Outpost" front end, which is denominated in its own native token and and offers a very clear sense that you are "inside" a community web site.

Content discovery is a little harder and more ambiguous... sometimes it feels like the line blurs between when you are looking at all of Hive's content, and just the Proof of Brain's community content. So I can't really give that more than a grade of "C," as far as usability goes.

And yes, I do realize that customizing and running a Hive Blockchain front end is no small task!

As I write this, I am still not sure what "ecency points" are really good for. When I look at my wallet, I can see that they have some kind of "value," but they are evidently not marketable; they can only be used to buy Ecency related services.

And I'm still not 100% sure what those are. But that's to be explored in the months ahead, as I work towards my Hive savings goals.

Now we just have to hope that the Hive token starts to recover a bit, price wise!

Thanks for coming to visit, and do leave a comment if you feel so inclined! This is "social" media, after all, so it helps everyone when we make the effort to BE social with our fellow content creators!

=^..^=


Posted with proof of brain