Is Lua worth learning?

in Proof of Brain9 months ago

I have been working in the code and the gaming space for some time. Most of it is in the moonlight. And I have learned a lot of stuff along the way. That has helped me develop variety of new skills that also helped me worked on the Lua for gaming.

Now that I have moved to Unity and Godot. I am wondering if I have to use the lua for the gaming and I want to use it for anything serious, where and why would I be making use of the same? And where in the game development that would be of use.

So what is your approach in such case? Learn or unlearn or not to learn?

Lua for Casual Scripting


I have spent a lot of time doing the scripting with the perl and the python. I don't see the strong need to learn something new. And also there does not seem to be anything that is worth going ahead with the script and the work in general. Some of that would be worth learning and moved ahead with.

I don't feel the same with Lua. Python is more powerful and it can do wonder for you. And alot of that can be transferable skill too. When you manage to work on the casual scripting those skills can be moved to the server and the web stack skills. That always works out if you ask me.

Learning Lua in short time


So I made series of tutorial then combined them up and hosted it on the YouTube. That has worked out for me. You can check the video up on the top. And that is something I wanted to promote here. I wish you watch this video and it would work out for your learning skills that you wanted. So use lua tutorial above to learn new things.

lua.png

I don't know if there are any sites where you can host the lua code. And that would be one of the ways the life would be pretty cool in that case. So that being aside, I hope to transfer those skills ahead. I hope that I can make sure to work with the lua code and overall it just start to work out.


Now coming back to the cloud hosting. I hope that I can host the lua code on the azure and make sure to do that on the small amount and not end up causing more or less issues. But that would be another tutorial for me to go through and work with. Till then I'd just take a break!

Sort:  

Thanks for your contribution to the STEMsocial community. Feel free to join us on discord to get to know the rest of us!

Please consider delegating to the @stemsocial account (85% of the curation rewards are returned).

You may also include @stemsocial as a beneficiary of the rewards of this post to get a stronger support.