Skip The Oreo

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

Oreo.jpg

You might or might not have noticed that I don't post here everyday as I used to. I've just been quite busy at work but once I got the hang of the routine I'll be able to post regularly again. Even if it doesn't look like it, my full time job is just a side thing. I mean Hive matters to me first and foremost but these days, I still need a job. And this is just a crucial week for me as I'm trying to prove myself at work. I was sleepless for a few days - working off hours just to create something exceptional. It's crazy how things have changed in my life just like that.

It looks like things are working out for me so far. I just had this one on one meeting with the VP of analytics department and he sounded like someone who's open to hearing out his employees' sentiments. Well I guess that's the point of the boss organizing these one on one meeting sessions right? Or maybe he's just fishing for some info (it's a corporate thing to stab each other in the back ha ha).

Good thing he started out with commendations or "pat on the back". But you know that "Oreo cookie approach" is also a corporate thing. It's basically a BS coaching style of starting out with the positive feedback then giving you all that is wrong with you. Some kind of a manipulative tactic for the cogs just so they don't get shocked with straight up criticisms ha ha. Anyway, as a lover of truth, I always prefer to taste the sweetest part of the cookie straight away (all those things that are difficult to hear). But I didn't get any during our lovely cam session so I guess I did well during the first few weeks at work huh. Surprise!

The big boss said that he heard good things about me so the clients must have said something nice awww (that's cool for someone diabolic). I think it's mostly creating new reports, dashboards, and automating stuff for this "new program" or client. Think of it as being given a slaughtered pig and turning it into a bacon. My job was basically to turn that mess of a data into something very pleasant to look at. I'm glad I made a good impression or that I had proven to them that I could take big tasks under pressure without complaints. Because this is the goal. The truth is, I just want something from them (insert evil laugh here).

I've been focusing lately on getting things done that might impress the bosses or clients. Well if you guys could remember, HR and my boss onshore were asking me to move back to the city so when this pandemic is all over (ugh who knows), we could all work on site again. I guess you've read how much I hate the idea of working in the office and seeing the same faces daily. And having to deal with the security, office politics, annoying chair arrangements, and disgusting good. Imagine that! And of course, moving to a big city is not an option for me anymore. I was hoping that after I've proven my value to the bosses during the first couple of weeks, I could make my case and say that I will stay in my current location due to "change in personal circumstances". I know that was not what I promised them during the interviews. I know it was cheeky of me, ha! But what could they do now? Or what could I do? I also know that some things are beyond my control. And I'm always ready to find another job that fits my requirements too.

Now it is really up to them. I haven't gotten any replies from HR or my boss here yet but I took the one on one meeting as an opportunity to raise my concern with the VP. Well of course I didn't start the meeting with my demands. I just let him say whatever he wants and it seems like things are working out as planned so far. It's the cookie approach right? I'll start with telling you all the things that you want to hear (I appreciate this job so much) then I'll give you my real motives . Take note that I'm only doing this at work and not with real humans out there (insert evil laugh).

Finally before the meeting had ended, he asked if there were any concerns and I told him about wanting to just stay in my current location and if possible, just accomplish all the paperwork and medical requirements here. I told him that I don't want to lose this just because I couldn't accomplish the tests in the affiliated clinics. Well guess what, he asked me to email HR and request them to coordinate with the testing centers here in my region just so I don't have to move. It's gonna be hard to travel anyway due to all these insane COVID protocols and shit. The boss said that if HR wouldn't allow it, I could just forward the email to him and he would talk to the VP of HR himself. Wow, isn't that good news for me? I think things are working out a bit. It looks like I'll finally be able to work from home indefinitely.

I was actually in my "acceptance stage" thinking that I might lose this job again. But yeah, I think creating good first impressions and proving your value to your employer could work somehow. But if things don't work out, well, there's always this thing we call "moving on".

img: @unsplash

Sort:  

No substitute for hard work and good, open communication. That said ... I am happy to be out of the corporate world...although I do miss all the lovely women {grin}

Haaaa I can't wait for the day I can say "I'm finally out of the corporate world!" Lol.

-Hehehhe in the corporate world, be it via online..the "killing me softly approach" is also a trend. I wish you all the best, may the positive things turn on your side..being sleepless in a job like that, is normal hehehe..better to enjoy that..indeed first impression last so..do the hard work first! May God be with you!Have a blessed day!❤🌷

#dreemer

the "killing me softly approach"

Truth. Thanks !

I had the Oreo taught as CRC Commend-Recommend-Commend. I guess because CRC is a popular local spray lubricant. A bit like WD-40.
Glad the meeting went well and I hope it pans out for you.

This is the first time I've heard of CRC.

I'm still waiting for HR's feedback and if they don't allow my WFH request I might have to escalate it to our vp - as per our meeting. I hope things will work out because I really like my working situation now. Anyway, thanks for all your advice !


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

We call it the feedback sandwich. It's basically positive, negative, positive -- it's not manipulative, just a way to soften the blow. I guess it depends on the type of person. Some people I can go right out and criticise, but others I have to do that. Depends on the ego size and such - definitely recommended for newcomers though :)

Haha yeah depends on the ego size, some people cant take straight talk.