Imperial Purple

in Proof of Brainlast month

I read somewhere (and I know from personal experience) that a single human eye (especially a man's eye🙂), even if it is not a colorblind eye, does not distinguish some colors.

Maybe some of you will say that I'm wrong now, but that's fine for you.
I know for myself 😃
I know that with this Purple theme @friendlymoose put me in a big challenge in this round of the #POBPhotocontest

〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️

In the apartment where I live, I have purple and violet colors everywhere.
I have wallpapers, walls, chairs, table covers, blankets, even stuffed toys in that color, but if you asked me now, which is purple and which is violet, I wouldn't know let me tell you.

I could never tell them apart, although the difference between these two colors was known even in the 15th century BC.

〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️〰️

I was sitting in the garden of my cottage a few days ago, admiring the colorful flowers my mother had planted.
And there are a lot of shades in those flowers.

Eh, if only I knew now which one is purple...

I'm giving 30 Ecency Points to the first lady who comments back to me with one of these pictures of mine is with purple (If there is purple in one of my pictures 🙂)

Why only ladies?
Because I don't trust the male eye, there are probably others here like me, who can barely distinguish colors 😃 (and you @ friendlymoose, you can't participate, because you judge, so as not to be in a conflict of interest 😀).

Since I can't wait for help, I have to nominate one image, which according to my eye is Purple.
I will nominate this one:

I am also adding pictures of other flowers from our garden which, in my opinion, have something to do with purple or violet color 🙂

As I look at these beautiful flowers, I look up at the sky and the clouds above my head, from which it can start raining at any moment.
With all these purple flowers, it would certainly look like Purple Rain to me...


Thank you for stopping by my post and I hope you enjoyed the photos and the story I shared with you


All photos are my property, taken with a mobile phone


Sort:  

Well it just sooooo happens that Purple is my absolute favourite colour and has been for a long time, which is also why my hair is purple and most of my wardrobe is.

So all of those flowers are truly sublime in their unique beauty but the true purple in the bunch is this delicious flower ...And I know it, but can't think of the name of this shrub, but if my memory is correct, it's a ribbon flower or something like that..

image.png

The others, while being just as stunning, are all within the Magenta spectrum- which in itself is an illusion that the brain creates as our eyes see the colours of Red and Blue at each end of the spectrum merging with each other. Magenta is also called Fushia, but to me Fushia is actually an individual 'colour', whereas Magenta represent many shades in the spectrum.

So I am a colouraholic, (as much as I ma a chocaholic), and Gray is completely banned from my life and my apt BUT when I was young, I worked in minilabs printing and developing photos, both on the machines and in darkrooms, so I learnt a lot about colour back then- I had to manually control it when determining the values to add or subtract from people photos by looking at the negatives..and yes, it was back in the 80's and it was fun, but I can't tell you just how much I LOVE the Digital world with Photoshop...so much more fun!

Anyhooo, I digress from my fave Purple...Anyway, check out this doco series by Tony Robinson where he explains how Purple came into being...and into popularity for the royals

at around 40:58 you will see this segment on the Purple Maker

While looking for an explanation for the purple color, I learned that it was made from snails and that due to the complicated process of obtaining it, it was an expensive color, the color of emperors, kings and church dignitaries.

The seeds of this flower (Campanula glomerata, known by the common names clustered bellflower or Dane's blood) were brought by my mother when she was in Scotland visiting her younger son.

And I thought that this color you singled out for me was a purple color (thanks for the help, the points are yours 😁). but I liked the picture with the flower that I nominated a little more and thus probably disqualified myself 😀

that it was made from snails and that due to the complicated process of obtaining it, it was an expensive color, the color of emperors, kings and church dignitaries.

Yes, that why I wear so much of it...royalty you know...just the long lost bastard child version...😆🤣😂😅 Hmmm I must do my dna test someday, after all my bio mum was born a 'stones throw from Windsor Castle"...🤣

But I watched that Tony Robinson video again a couple of nights ago and they said it was the 'dye' like fluid that came out of the Sea Urchins membrane when you cut it and I'm going to watch it again..... Brain is a bit dusty...🤣 No thanks to you!

You're the one that made me feel like drinking a cocktail...😆🤣😂😅

Oh ok so what I thought was called a 'ribbon flower' of the like is actually a Bell flower! I've always heard of Danes Blood but had never seen one before, or so I thought...

Oh I LOVED the photos of all the flowers!
Thats the thing with flowers, they are all just as equally beautiful and I only chose the purple one because it is the theme...but if you had've asked me to pick a fave flower..well that would have been soooo much harder!

Anyway, so now after introducing myself to everyone at 3am this morning, what is you name then? I can't just keep calling you 'hey you' you know...😂

royalty you know...

After all you Australians are very close to a United Kingdom, you are used to princes, princesses, queens and kings 🙂

but if you had asked me to pick a fave flow

I don't like picking flowers from the garden... I'm sorry to deprive it of its duration. I prefer to enjoy its beauty for 20 days in the garden, than for 3, 4 days in the vase in the room...

after introducing myself to everyone at 3am

yes, the time difference is really big. One participant from Indonesia said that he was late, how late was it for you 🙂
If I calculate correctly, now is the right time for one :"Good morning Lisa" 🙂

My name is Duško, look here
https://peakd.com/hive-133311/@duskobgd/they-call-me-by-name

Yes and since like I said, my bio mum was supposedly born a stone's throw from Windsor Castle...😆🤣😂😅.

I'm a night owl so the time difference is that important to me- it was only a 2pm start but I stumbled in just after 2.30am, coming home for the Melissa Etheridge concert, so perfect time really!

I really enjoyed being online and meeting everyone, but got paranoid that I was talking too much! 🤣

So right now as I'm replying to you, it's much earlier than I would normally reply as I'm actually working from home tonight and at the moment it's pretty quiet, so I have got my computer and the work computer set up side by side and going from one to the other!

So it's currently 8.24pm and I finish at 10.30pm, so it's really nice to be able to get in some hive time while I'm working! 😆🤣😂😅.

So now you can say 'good evening Leesa'...😊

Then we will say ĆGood evening, Leesa"
My day starts soon, as soon as I finish work.

Well I finished work nearly 3 hours ago, so it's nearly 1.30am, so I'm going to say goodnight Dusko.

And what do you do for work?

same here, i am in a bind as i am colorblind. purple is one of those colors i lump in together with violets and blues.

There is a whole theory about violet and purple 🙂
violet is a spectral color and purple is derived from red and blue...
Now if I understood correctly, violet has more blue and purple has more red...

I hope that some female eye will look at my pictures and tell us which color purple is.
Until then, we can only imagine, with the sounds of Purple rain...

Thank you for your comment, it means I know I'm not alone in not recognizing this color 😀

i was about to comment in the main theme post and found your entry. i'm glad to know as well that i'm not alone. :D

Wow! These are all gorgeous flowers, you have lovely array of them. The fifth picture from the last is the color purple in all its glory. I wonder what's the name of this flower, so beautiful!!
That purple dog is so cute too!♥️
Best of luck on the challenge.

Thanks 🙂
This flower is Campanula glomerata, known by the common names clustered bellflower or Dane's blood.

Since one lady already revealed to me which picture is purple (the same picture you showed) she won the promised points.
But since you answered my call for help 🫶 and mentioned another picture, with my favorite purple keric, I'm sending you some points too 🙂

Oh wow! Thank you for the points, Greatly appreciated. More blessings coming your way too.

Oooo! What a unique name for a flower, Dane's blood.