You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You cannot take away from the author that which does not belong to the author.

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

Heh... the communists love to sell that we are equal. What this really is, is the aspects of capitalism that the communists love to use as examples when trying to convince people capitalism is bad and communism is good.

Yet this is the worst aspects because here once you have a monopoly on power there is NO way short of someone spending a lot of money for them to ever get that much power and because spending that money would make the other stake holders wealthier they could spend the profit to make themselves even more powerful.

The curation rewards are divided based upon time of vote as well as voting power. So the more powerful voters give the most rewards yet they also get the most reward from curation.

This is not bad other than it makes it so anyone that was in the right place at the right time basically became royalty and just like bloodlines you will never be part of that royalty.

There are good things in Hive. There are also some quite bad things.

What do the powerless compared to royalty do?

We speak. We say? Can we change this?

We might be called nobodies. We might be called shitheads. We might be called thankless.

We might be told we were angry for thinking something was taken from us that was not ours.

The carrot was dangled so we do the work.

Then the carrot is removed. It wasn't for you.

There are flaws in the code, and thus the laws here. I didn't know how to fix them.

I think this jury model from Algorand that @logiczombie is the only thing that I've heard of that might do that.

Yet the power always being the most powerful. I don't see any voluntary way that will ever be solved.

They were in the right place at the right time to become gods in this little digital world.

Sort:  

How much power is a lot of power? Is 1,000 HP a lot of power or do you mean something like 100,000 HP or more?

Basically by a lot of power I am talking about the people that can take a post up voted by 100 people and drive the value of that post to $0 with a single vote.

They may have to use several accounts as several of them have spread their power across multiple accounts.

So, in order to survive, people have to have thousands or even millions of people upvote their posts to survive those storms.

Yes. Though @acidyo did confirm it is linear power not exponential like the old steem/steemit days so it isn't quite that bad. There are some people it'd take thousands of low end votes to even remotely counter though.

Loading...

Should voting power increase, is that a good incentive, that Hive Power goes up, or should the voting system be tweaked to parallel with Resource Credits (RC) to allow people to vote more often as HP goes up as opposed to being given a heavier vote weight or power per vote?


I like the ability to vote with more power as my power goes up and I can also vote in percentage to spread out the vote. But I know the argument is too much power can be dangerous. Well, the voting system has been described to be like a reverse auction and yet others see upvoting as buying candy at a store.


So, imagine that you buy a candy bar for a dollar at a store but then I come in to steal that candy bar from you and go to pay $100 for that same bar. I'm not sure if this analogy best describes the situation or not.


I'm not against the pursuit towards becoming digital gods as you put it. But at the same time, I'm also not against tweaking the voting system in an attempt to keep smaller accounts from becoming slaves or too small or too disconnected from the opportunity of a free market.

I'm not against the pursuit towards becoming digital gods as you put it.

I am not either. I am against the system being designed so no one else can ever reach the same level of them. You can become as powerful momentarily if you spend a lot of money and purchase hive to power up. Yet purchasing that massive amount of hive will also increase the wealth of current hive holders so in theory they can simply acquire more as well and thus maintain their status as the unquestionable God.

If I came a long and wrote or came up with something truly revolutionary here. I might get up voted nicely for it and get a little power. Yet it would not be a path way to equality. The process of up voting my creation would have rewarded a sizeable chunk to the people that up voted as curation rewards.

Thus, I could never achieve a level of equality with them purely through hard work creating content here. It is not possible.

I started Steemit in 2017 with no money. I don't know how much money is a lot of money but my HP is close to 1,000 HP now. I've sent some of my Hive to Bitcoin. I currently have around $1,000 USD worth of Bitcoin BTC. It appears my accounts on Bittrex and Poloniex were suspended and I had something like twice that in Bitcoin.


But I know these are small numbers compared to whales who may have 100,000 HP or 1,000,000 HP.


Is it possible that I could someday turn my almost 1,000 HP into 100,000 HP? I don't know but that won't stop me from trying and I find that to be worth the adventure.

You could turn it instantly into 100,000 HP if you were willing to convert enough crypto to hive and then power it up but that costs money.

It is possible you could get that posting, voting, etc. It is just a matter how long it will take.

Also the whales will also have grown at likely a faster rate during that time so 100,000 HP may no longer be as powerful as you might hope.

It is hard to say. There is no way to catch up to the most powerful whales without spending money to do so.

In other words, will inflation affect Hive someday or will things be able to adjust, adapt? But I am not interested in catching up with the most powerful whales. Instead, I believe in cultivating what I do have in life instead.

Yeah it was not so much whether you or I want to catch up. It is simply by the nature that you CANNOT even if you wanted to that makes them kind of like FOREVER royalty.

It is kind of a digital feudalism. If the Lords/Ladies are benevolent things are good. If they get angry and are malevolent then it could be bad and there is not much anyone beneath them in power can do about it.

I disagree with you if you are saying people should be equal financially or with the amount of power they may have, I love the free market and I seek after tons of money, power, influence. However, I do encourage people away from monogenerational wealth, lust, manipulative-power, micromanaged-stress, and debt, and towards an acceleration and momentum commitment at long-term multigenerational family respect, reputation, integrity, honor, position, earned-leadership, land, trade, business, natural resources, value, worth, progress, history, heritage, tradition, culture, charm and perpetual whale-like inheritance.

There is ONE way for you to catch up (momentarily). If you purchase a ton of HIVE and power up you can catch up. Yet in the process of purchasing that much hive you will have caused the value of hive to skyrocket so they likely will benefit immensely and can likely power up more themselves to maintain that lead thanks to your efforts. (Everyone that has hive could potentially benefit from that purchase until things level out... how many people might suddenly choose to sell because hive is worth so much?)

If they don't power up to get ahead again then you can be on equal (or even exceed them).

Where are all the people who bought Bitcoin when it was only worth a penny?

I look at it pretty regularly.

I simply prefer the visual display of peakd.

By the way I suspect one of the reasons people may up vote my content even when they may not like it or agree with it is because it currently still does okay. Thus, they maximize their own curation rewards. I saw one of them got 11 POB from one of my posts. :)

band-wagon-votes