You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If I'm collateral damage, what does that tell you?...That it's time to do some carpet bombing ?

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

It is also deceptive, this "free to use an online service" slogan, isn't it? Somewhere, the generosity of the founders must generate a long-term source of money so that many come together and the forum gains value through the users. So it's not really a one-sided provision of a service, but it's through the users of that service that the business gets its shape, weight and power. No, it's not free, of course, and the best currency for platforms like FB and YT is user data and profiles. So it's not free, you can't say that. So the business model is clear, isn't it? And yet it's strange how little people seem to care ...

When the space is small, without the masses, as it were back in the days of the beginning, I agree, there come memories. When things are not clear, not determined, not directed, not so much ruled, when the space is free to roam and to explore, it's the best times.

The talk here on hive "how to get the masses on board" seems un-intelligent to me. At least, if you want to be smart, you pretend you have a really cool club where not everyone can get in. But that would also not be my cup of tea. If it's not for real, it's just advertising.

Greetings to you :)

Sort:  

Yeah and you know what they say, when a service is free, it could mean you are the service, Facebook makes money selling data to governments, corporations, etc. I believe in encouraging people to join Hive just like I would encourage people to eat healthy and other things too and we all know many people may not always make the best of choices. In other words, it is not like every human is always going to make the best choice and being on hive is a better choice.

I leave the encouraging people to come here to others. I did that in the beginning, but stopped. Either it grows over time by itself and what I so far invested or it does not. I do not care so much, though I enjoy to talk to people here and to practice my debate skills. It's like my daily habit to open up hive and to see what's up.

Have a good day. :)

Yeah, I don't talk about Hive to people a lot and sometimes not at all. My Facebook has a link for those interested in checking out Hive. Yeah, debating skills is kind of like swimming.