You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Announcement of My Intent to File a Future Proposal Regarding ‘Rules for Downvoting’ in the Proof-of-Brain Tribe

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

I would have found value in your comment if you had expounded on why you feel nothing should change or how all his points were bad, if you feel/felt that way. Instead, you simply posted old guidelines with a major upvote as a bully pulpit? Don't get me wrong...I don't care if you upvote yourself. It's also in the code that you can. I don't care if you take it down on the 6th day...Essentially what I've read from the context in your comment is "I have a bullhorn and a recorder. I've turned it on to say I don't like this, and I'll turn it off before the week is over." Then you put it on loop so all can see/hear your opinion.

This expresses what I thought, too and I think also how others view it.

This "rules" were copied from another user.
It is an attempt to take out emotions, which of course does not succeed. To use a language and to mark the definitional sovereignty over terms as "set" is, in my opinion, very daring.
Of course, you can go to the Hive FAQs and refer to the set of rules published there. Then you claim that these rules are carved in stone there and that you are "only following them". But you can try to ignore the fact that these rules are not fixed, cannot be fixed at all, but always have room for interpretation, but you will fail, as the debate around this topic nicely shows.

I was most amused when I read that these are only mathematical prefixes. HaHa! Yes, if it were really the case that we just exchange maths exercises and on the other hand behave like Zen masters, then, I'm exaggerating on purpose now, everyone here would just set up an account, switch on some random text generator that produces automatic content, throw the whole thing on their own blog and make a nice life for ourselves, wouldn't they? Then it wouldn't matter what the content was, would it? The Zen master would get a kick out of it, or call him the court jester ;-)

But that's exactly what it seems to be about, showing the cheeky, "only cheap text modules producing bloggers" what a rake is, isn't it? They fight for the rights of the weaker ("true") authors and put on their Robin Hood hats. For the good of the community.

If I get carried away sharing angst about the sacred reward pool being emptied before any of the fish have made it to true subjectively aspired greatness, I am lost, I think. I get lost in the game of those who claim word-definition and presence-supremacy and play it with all the arts of learned propaganda - turning learned terms and intuitive self-evident matters on their heads.