#CelebrationDay Challenge

The big day has finally come. Today I'm going to detail the plan I had in mind for some time and give you the time to prepare yourself for when the time comes.

I've been thinking about what I can do to help those who would like to write something and don't know what. Newbies who don't have writing experience are facing this problem and although no one is forcing you to post on Hive, writing can help you improve.

About two weeks ago I (accidentally) came across a webpage with a list with the world celebrations in 2023 and going through the list made me smile and brought back some nice memories. This list was the starting point of the project I want to start on Hive, on the 1st of January 2023. At first glance it may not look interesting, but hear me out before you jump to conclusion.

image.png
image.png
source

As you know, every day in the calendar is a celebration day for something. As you can see, some days have more than one celebration allocated. Some are interesting, others are boring or are about thing we don't understand, do or care. Good thing the year has 364 days, so there's plenty to choose from and as this is not mandatory, you can skip as many days as you want and join the ones you like.

The Main Idea

What I would like to start here is stories you have related to each day or what you did on the mentioned day. I don't want you to copy/paste what the day means or stands for. You can make reference, quote the definition or meaning, but that's not the main point, that will only be to inform the readers, why you are posting your story.

Let me give you a couple of examples. Let's look at the first day of next month.

image.png
source

The first day of the year is usually rough as some people spend it sleeping, recovering from a rough party. Others are writing about their new year resolutions and feeling bad already that they already broke the no drinking, no smoking and diet rules. If you don't do either of those, or you still have some energy left, you can write about these topics in the calendar. I'd love to hear what stories you have about hangover for example 😂

Veganuary is also interesting, you can read about it here. You can go vegan for a month for example and can share your journey if you like.

National Bird Day is observed every year on January 5. This holiday raises awareness about the fact that birds are an endangered species in the United States, especially those that are not native to the country. It highlights the way in which we can all contribute to protecting birds and their habitats, both captive and wild. At the same time, it encourages people to take a little bit of time from their day to stop and appreciate the beauty of birds and their birdsong. source

This day is also interesting, so go out, do something for these birds, then share it with the community.

The list I've come across is a Calendar with 2023 Celebrations and Holidays of the United States, but there are other lists available as well. It doesn't matter what list you are using, it's up to you.

Also, you don't have to post the same day when the day is celebrated, you can post your story after, just make sure the slippage will be a couple of days and not months :)

This will be a challenge, not a contest, so there will be no prize to win here, but I'm going to curate some of the entries every day from my main account. My stake on this account is not enough for that.

celebrationday.jpg

Photo by Elisha Terada on Unsplash

Why Should You Join

As I mentioned above, it can give you an idea what to write about, which can lead to improving your writing skills, as well as bring you some readers, followers. The other reason is, by checking the calendar, you can learn about what these days mean and join local events too. Charities, NGOs are often organizing charity events on these days. Helping is something we should all do and by knowing where the next event is and when, we can prepare the day and join the event if there's a possibility.

Rules and a detailed guideline will be posted sometime at the end of next week.

I chose #celebrationday as tag, so I can find your post and others too, who are ready to read a good story.

What do you think? Let me know in the comment section. Will you be interested in joining? Do you have some interesting stories to share with the community?

Sort:  

mmm this sounds like fun. Count me in! I'll write on the ones I end up doing something on or getting involved in. I'll also be following to read the entries. This will be a fun challenge! Can't wait of the national science fiction day. I wonder what exactly that's about.🤔

Hey, I'm glad to see you here! And also to hear you like it. Looks up what national science fiction day means and get ready with something cool :) Let's see what you got 😂

Haha I looked it up after I left the comment. Cool concept. It’ll definitely be fun!

Counting on you to spread the word, when the time comes 😏

Definitely will.

Wow, this is interesting, it is going to be fun. It makes writing easy as each day prepares the mind on what to write. Count me in @erikah

Thank you, I will.

I'm going to curate some of the entries every day from my main account

Wicked cool idea, Erikah! I'll keep an eye on your feed for posts you curate, and might jump in with some upvotes myself. And if I can get my blogging focus back, I may do a post or three myself. 😊

That would be great and highly appreciated!

And if I can get my blogging focus back, I may do a post or three myself. 😊

Do it, better sooner than later! You have no excuse.

What a great idea for all those who have "writer's block" (or just whine about how they don't know what to write about... 😜)! As there are multiple events in 1 day, there are plenty of ideas for everyone...

Thanks a lot for sharing it!

You don't know what to write about? Check out Erika's newest blog post and search for ideas!


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project which will be highlighted in the next post!

Comment Footer.jpg

Indeed, there are multiple events to celebrate very single day, so most likely there's always something to write about :)

Thank you and I'm glad you like it.

My son gives me a list every month on these days, so I'll probably be joining you on selected days. It sounds like fun!

I'm glad to hear that and I'm counting on you :)

This sounds like a fun thing! The more diverse lists of prompts there are, the better the chance of people finding a prompt that resonates with them :D

The list is indeed diverse, so no one can complain :)

Sounds fun. I'm definitely interested to talk about this theme.

Good to know as next week I'm going to post the rules.

I'm looking forward to it and I already made you favorite through ecency so that I don't miss the next post. 😎