MY INSECURITIES AS A CONTENT WRITER

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

questions-1922476_1920.jpg
Source

Who is a content creator? What makes a post creative? How can one create good content? How can a content creator make a living?

According to Wikipedia, content creation is the contribution of information to any media and most especially to digital media for an end-user/audience in specific contexts.

Typical forms of content creation include maintaining and updating websites, blogging, article writing, photography, videography, online commentary etc.

I have always considered myself a terrible writer. I grew up with this mentality. Whenever I have a writing project, searching for good content creators to bail me out becomes my option.

This mentality got a strong hold on me when I failed English language during my WASSC. I didn't just believe I was bad at creating content, I would also vocalise it.

Our words impact our lives either positively or negatively. Always be mindful of what you say to yourself.

@nonsowrites always spoke about POB, a wonderful platform where you could write, learn, network and earn. I was determined to break free from the mentality that kept me in bondage. Why not explore and develop a new skill? If others can do it, with consistency and dedication I too can do it.

However, since I started this journey, it has not been a smooth ride. I have some insecurities as a content creator. I will be talking about my three major insecurities as a writer

1- I don’t believe I can come up with decent ideas
I sometimes have ideas running through my head, but there's a voice deep down telling me most of them are rubbish.

I also struggle with not having enough ideas to create the number of contents I want.

2- I don't think I can finish a write-up.
Even when I get the idea of what to write about, finishing up the write-up becomes another obstacle.

Writing takes a lot of perseverance, power and stamina. Each time I write without a deadline, I tend to get lazy and the job becomes tougher.

Lack of repercussions makes me become lazy with my work letting the daily grind take precedence while the writing project ceases slowly to exist.
I create less content weekly. How can you master something when there is no consistency?

3- I am bothered about how my audience will react.
Would there be enough upvotes? What will be people's reaction when they read my post? Will there be enough engagement?

In Spite of all these insecurities, I am still pushing myself to master this art. I am willing to learn and improve. Please share your thoughts on how I can overcome these insecurities.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Congratulations @fayour! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies.
Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

That’s beautifully written. I can relate to a lot of this. Been fighting my own insecurities for a while now.
It’s wonderful that you’re pushing yourself to get over it. It is when you learn to acknowledge and appreciate yourself for the little victories that these insecurities reduce. I’ve been working on it myself too. Great work there. Keep going. 😊

Thank you for the kind words.
I haven't been celebrating my small wins as I am always focused on bigger ones.
I would change from now henceforth.
I hope you fully overcome your insecurities too
Thank you once again.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Just keep writing
And writing
And writing
Write about things you feel
Write about what your passionate about
Don’t worry about what will people like or not like
Don’t worry about the upvotes
If you write with passion, it’ll come
Just👏🏽Keep👏🏽Writing👏🏽


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I will keep writing as you have advised, no matter the outcome.
Thank you very much


Posted via proofofbrain.io

When you see writing as a job, it becomes tougher for you to have fun writing.

Try not to be too strict to yourself in writing. Share contents about your day, take wonderful pictures. Infact share a lot of pictures.

To get inspiration on what to write about, you can go about reading the contents of other authors thereby, you get ideas of what you should write about.

Remember to make friends and keep making comments around the chain. Sooner, more people would notice you and then your contents will begin to get more votes.

By the way, I am @starstrings01 and I've chosen this post for 40% curation in Hive Cross Culture's curation project.

Hive Cross culture is a community for conversation about culture. This can be national, local, community, or personal culture, subculture or your ideas about culture, language posts etc. We also invite and support bilingual posts, and are searching for ways to support and grow the local communities on Hive. Come join us in our discord chat if you are interested!

Thanks for the advise.
I will be very flexible with my writing and have fun with it.
I will also read contents of others, engage and network.
This is truly a wonderful platform. I want to learn and contribute to it also


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I can relate to some of your insecurities. As someone who does not like to share much (I would rather observe from a distance) it was hard for me to write anything -Plus I do not consider myself a good writer.

However, like you said we are going to keeping pushing, plus the goal is to learn and become better overtime.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

We didn't come this far to give up. We keep pushing and writing.
We will become good at it soon.
Thanks for reading


Posted via proofofbrain.io