You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Paying it forward #pif contest ed. 4: Come and play πŸ™Œ

in Proof of Brain β€’ 2 years ago

I remember Stan Schmidt. That is both an amazing testimony and a good lesson. For everyone.

The other thing: the more one does what one enjoys, the better one gets at it!!

Sort: Β 

Now you remind me of Gary Player ..." the more I practice, the luckier I get" :-) How did you come to know of Stan? He was head of JKA in South Africa, which is the style of karate that I practiced. I was fortunate to meet him a few times during my karate years in SA and had the privilege of training with him in Johannessburg one exceptionally cold winter at 4am in the morning when our dojo were on tour... brrrr ... but his classes and presence were worth getting up for!

Well, firstly, I am of an age...lol...and a girl I was at school with was a black belt Funokoshi, not JKA, at 17. In 1980. So... And In think he worked at/out at the same gym as Reg Park in 1986. I worked in that Simmonds St building in Joburg for a while in 1986. You asked...lol. Those winter mornings and the wind chill....ahem...

Ah cool ... Yeah, I don't recall exactly where it was but it was a massive dojo! very imposing when filled with Black Belts. It was probably around that time though...πŸ™πŸ’— Oh that chill was horrendous at 4am in nothing but a t-shirt and karate giπŸ‚β˜ƒοΈ