What is Proof Of Brain exactly?

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)


Long ago there was a mention of a concept for Smart and Social tokens.

Token systems that reward users as they contribute to a token-based community system require mechanisms for establishing and evaluating content’s social value: we call this “Proof-of-Brain.”

This was described briefly in the Blue Paper

Those of us familiar with this blockchain might also know that this concept was only delivered thanks to independent users who after much disappointment, decided to build it. This is what we know now as the Hive-Engine.

It is then fitting that one of the first implementations of a "unique rewards and incentive program" would be an actual Proof Of Brain token, POB.

So the question becomes, 'What is Proof Of Brain worthy?'

What thoughts are worth thinking about? What thoughts are worth sharing?

I will begin by suggesting that proof of brain posts should be written with an intent and a specific idea in mind. Human meaningful effort must be demonstrated, for a purpose, and putting together a few coherent sentences should be a major part of it.

I have sat down just to write far less than I intended to in my life. We use the computer to consume information, but then demonstrating a working knowledge of a concept is a completely different exercise. Therefore when I write I will attempt to explain at least one concept, or get to a point and make certain that my words flow, and flow in a meaningful direction.

My hope is that more than simply reading my post with an intent to Vote and move on to the next, that you will understand something new, and leave me a meaningful response. It is my intention to demonstrate some worthy mental efforts here on https://ProofOfBrain.io and by example show others what they can do if they put their minds to it.

What I am explaining here then, is that the method by which this "token-based community" evaluates a piece of "content’s social value" should be (in my opinion) by the depth of the ideas conveyed in our posts. It can be hard to measure the worth of a post sometimes, but if you have less than 1000 tokens you should always vote 100% to maximize your voting power.

If you have 1000 or more tokens, you can consider using a 50% vote so that you can vote twice as often. Depending on the current mechanics of voting, some users will offer smaller votes, but remember that we are literally pushing the buttons that move the gears of POB. The transactions, comments and posts that are created and curated, are stamped inside every block. If you don't get on here and do something, nothing happens.

Take the time at least once a week, or once a day, to write on ProofOfBrain and share one thing that you have learned. This is what I am going to do with POB and I hope to use it as an educational tool to challenge writers to compose their best ideas. We are all also striving to create POB worthy posts, so wherever someone is at try to understand the brain behind the post.

I too am going to sit and write, stories, and blogs, perhaps like today I will just start writing and see what flows. Consistent writing is the only way it can happen. It isn't really about the rewards, the true value are the ideas we are focusing on.

"By thinking about your goals every morning, many times during the day, and every night, you begin moving toward it, and bringing it toward you.
--Bob Proctor"

POB: 0.043622 HIVE / $0.01749

For the #LeoFinance crowd to see, the POB token is now live on LeoDex, and Hive-Engine but can also be found on their front end https://proofofbrain.io

78.48% of the POB supply is staked.

CHALLENGE:

1 Pick 2 points I made in this post, and provide at least a 3-5 sentence response.
2 Share your latest POB link in the comments and I will do the same for you!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

putting together a few coherent sentences should be a major part of it

Every post on the blockchain should have at least a few coherent sentences included.. I know it's a lot to ask. I will admit, I've posted some quick photos before in the moment, but most posts involve at least some clackity clacity of my keyboard.

if you have less than 1000 tokens you should always vote 100% to maximize your voting power.

I almost ALWAYS vote 100%, even when my (HIVE) voting power is low. It's usually around 50% voting power, but sometimes gets down to 40% or 30% if I'm feeling extra curation happy. My TRIBE voting power usually remains pretty high, usually above 70 - 80, just depends on the tribes I'm curating!

I like the POB tribe, that pink brain icon is so attractive! I reciently applied my BRAIN MEMORY and recalled a movie from my childhood. Here's the post:
https://www.proofofbrain.io/movies/@ironshield/what-is-the-scariest-non-horror-film-from-your-youth

"so wherever someone is at try to understand the brain behind the post."

I like this take on what the concept is about. We're all at different stages of understanding both in life and also with the technology and culture of cryptocurrency/blockchain. Somewhere like Leo has the front-end focus of the latter but I can see how POB can have a wide range without being particularly limited.

Thank you for taking the time to notice this. We are all trying our best, well we hope everyone is. !BEER

Blockchain beer, whatever will there be next! I'm just returning after an extended time away so it's great to see the chain active and expanding. It seems like everyone is just doing their thing and enjoying the status of the market at the moment, and rightly so.


Hey @calumam, here is a little bit of BEER from @hivecoffee for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Take the time at least once a week, or once a day, to write on ProofOfBrain and share one thing that you have learned.

It's always on my todo list - I am working on figuring all this stuff out. Life is pretty hectic right now, i'm hoping the next couple months things will settle a bit so I can focus.

Consistent writing is the only way it can happen

Well, i am pretty consistent at writing garbage at least
Sometimes (rarely) I do get a chance to sit and think more than others

Lately I use POB as more of a quick 'journal' type entry than a 'blog' so much, but I'm hoping to make my posts better.

https://www.proofofbrain.io/hive-150329/@rxhector/just-a-little-lite-reading

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Definitely POB is a more fair distribution than Hive or Bitcoin. You do have to work. This kind of proof of work but instead of a machine working it's a human working.

My latest POB link:

Whether or not we are responsible for the Weather

An interesting link to a video:

World Alternative Media Sites Deaths Due to Vaccines and European Governments Stopping it

Best ideas make best things. Keep it simple!

  • Proof of Brain

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

people still have a lot of patience to sit down, think and create texts, a reward system for this activity stimulates people a lot, POB curators need to be attentive to maintain this incentive to anyone who is interested in the idea

my latest pob link: https://www.proofofbrain.io/hive-150329/@vempromundo/proof-of-brain-is-the-right-place-for-my-diaries-thoughs

Thank you for your reply! It does take a lot of patience however I believe that it is mostly out of decision that you will find yourself actually composing. It cannot be by accident! I appreciate your feedback.

I do love the educational part, I love to always learn and keep learning new things everyday.

I'll also give it a try by posting a proof of brain post everyday from now on.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Voted, next now! 😂😂 I'm kidding!

I often vote for a lot people, include low quality... I don't know if it is good for POB, maybe i do it for incentive them to stay active, "proof of activity".

About write posts, i don't know if i can do it.

My lastest post is There is no free will, a meaningless post haha, maybe a post not compatible with teachings of Bob Proctor.

You can do it! Believe in the power of your brain!

Summary: proof of brain posts should be written with an intent and a specific idea in mind...a purpose...demonstrate some worthy mental efforts

!PIZZA you bet! Human meaningful efforts and valuable ideas, I appreciate your comment! Thank you.

Congratulations @hivecoffee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@hivecoffee(1/5) tipped @avidez (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

Its a brilliant new blockchain. I would definitely like to contribute to this brand new blockchain front end