You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Xhonglu's Error — (creative writing + life update!)

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

Hey, @d-pend
So glad to see you're back.
I'll take another look at this and the next post.
Your writing always deserves careful reading.
I'm glad you have new exciting projects
Wish you the best.
Nashville was one of the few cities I visited when I was in the states. I went there for a children literature conference. Loved the live music on the bars.
My summer sucks so far (health not the best these days), but I am trying to make the best of it. Things here keep sinking to an all-time low so not much to expect.
That being said, we keep fighting for a way to get out of the country, and trying to be productive in the meantime.

Sort:  

Hey, awesome to hear from you @hlezama. That is so interesting that you visited Nashville. It is quite a nice place, though growing so rapidly in recent years that the road infrastructure can scarcely handle the traffic! Even in 2013 when I completed college it was getting quite bad. I moved in 2015, back to the Dallas Texas area in preparation for my South India visit. I also stayed in Nashville with a friend for a few months in 2016 while I was recording some music.

I had a friend in college whose parents told me stories of Nashville back in the 1980s — it was just a tiny backwater town in comparison.

Given how flat the area I grew up in is (North Texas) I really enjoy the hills and forests of Tennessee and the slightly cooler climate.

So sorry to hear about your health troubles and all the other implied horrors of the living situation you're in. I really hope you are able to find a way out. Please let me know if there is any way I can be of assistance... I think you had my Discord link at one time. But if not, it's @d-pend#5693. You can send me a message any time.

I am glad to hear you are focusing on being productive despite it all!

Peace.

Urban developments in the States is something incredible. Even though, that comes with all kinds of issues, in places like here, we actually wish for that kind of transformation.
Our towns tend to freeze in time and start to crumble after a while.
Thanks for your good thoughts. I have been exploring some job opportunities to go teach in the states. Some remote areas need teachers, but migration requirements can be a pain in the ass.
We are working on getting our passports and other docs in order just in case we get a positive response. This year we were not lucky.
Most people who leave do it the hard way. Long perilous journeys without any guarantee. Some lucky ones either have relatives somewhere else helping them or got jobs from here that "facilitate" the process.
Even with a job offer, if a Venezuelan heads to the states, they have to cross the Colombian border illegally (troches), and then be interviewed in the American embassies in Colombia (none available now in Venezuela). From there, once a visa is approved, then they can fly to the the States.

Also, I am curious — what do the prospects of actually getting out of your country look like? In other words, in what way(s) do people manage it? (If that's not something you're OK with posting here, I totally understand of course)