Exploring Passports and Cultural Diversity

in Proof of Brain11 days ago


Source

Good day, everyone, and welcome to my blog. On this side of the world having a passport seems more of a luxury than a regular thing that can be achieved in a day or two, infact, it became a big deal because of the process in achieving a passport. I have compared how other countries get their passport which is an easy and fast process without any challenges or bribe being paid to make the process for obtaining the passport document fast, but down here it's a different case and although it pains me to sat this it just the reality here as the people in charge of issuing the passport are after the money that comes out of your pocket.

Getting a passport has become frequent because of how many people want to leave the country in search of greener pastures overseas, which is not being offered to them within their country. It said that the number of people leaving their home country in Africa to Europe or America doubles every year. It is a little bit sad because I have heard some citizens in the US for example don't even own a passport because they don't need it as they don't have interest in traveling outside their country. The thought is that if a lot of different people from different countries are rushing to come over to the US, that just tells them that their country is better and has everything it needs.

Currently I don't have a passport, but that doesn't mean I won't get one soon because I have plans and goals to achieve but from where I am it is somehow difficult to realize because of the way the economy is heading these past few years. It should not be like this, but what I know is that the people in power don't care about the general public but only for themselves and their families, which is bad. It will be cool to get my passport someday, but until then, I can only dream.


Source

There are different kinds of culture and traditions in Nigeria, so it's hard not to come across an individual from a different cultural background on a daily basis. The different types of culture here sometimes confuse me, and one of the states that I sometimes still try to figure out is Delta State in the southern part of Nigeria. Delta States is known for the natural resources it brings, which is crude oil. Their people are also known to be good at fishing, which is their major source of livelihood, but within this state lies different types of culture and tribes that duel in the same state.

It was through my interactions with a friend of mine who came from that state that I got to know that they are 10 different tribes that have different cultural beliefs and traditions. It actually came as a shock to me because I thought there was just one tribe duelling in the state, but gradually, I got to learn more and differentiate the tribes from each other. The university was another eye opener for me because I interacted with more people whose cultures are different from mine, and I got to learn more through cultural presentation in one of my courses last semester.

It was a nice experience for me, and I am not done yet because there will be other culture shock. I will experience as time goes by when I interact with more people. So guys, that will be all for now. Thanks for stopping by, and have a good day.

This post is inspired by the Aprilininleo initiative. If you are interested in participating, here is a link to the thread for today's topic. Feel free to participate and make sure to use the Aprilininleo hashtag.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @iamchuks! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 5000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP