Admiring Some Cloud Formations While on a Road Trip to Johannesburg

in Proof of Brain2 years ago (edited)

Yes, I haven't been around over the last few days...but here I am.

I'm not planning on going anywhere. I just had a hectic schedule over the past two weeks which ended with a road trip to Johannesburg and back over the last weekend.

We left for Vanderbijlpark on Friday morning, which was about a 6-hour drive (excluding our stop to have lunch).

My nephew bought new property on the banks of the Vaal River and we were to spend the night with them in their new home.

Saturday morning would include a trip to Johannesburg for business.

After that, we left for Kempton Park for a family gathering to celebrate my mother-in-law's 80th birthday.

From Kempton Park, we went to Beyerspark in Boksburg to spend the night with my wife's family, and then we returned to Durban on Sunday morning, arriving back home on Sunday evening.

On Monday I had some business to deal with locally, so although we were back home, I was out on the road again.

But what I would like to share today, are some of the cloud formations we saw on Friday.

When looking at these photos, please bear in mind that these photos were taken with a mobile phone from a moving vehicle, traveling at an average of 120 km/h, through the closed window of our vehicle.

As I was doing the driving, my wife assisted me by taking the photos.

The first photo is showing signs of an approaching winter with Cosmos flowers blossoming in the foreground, with these beautiful cloud formations in the sky, with some heavier cloud banks behind the mountains which are becoming visible in the distance.

IMG_20220325_131648.jpg

Those beautiful little flowers were also confirming that our biggest challenge would be the cooler weather in Johannesburg, which is much colder than the sub-tropical climate that we are used to.

Mountains were becoming more visible from a distance with more cloud formations.

IMG_20220325_131655.jpg

As we were traveling towards Johannesburg, the Drakensberg would become visible to the left.

The closer we get to Harrismith, which is the halfway mark, the more visible the mountains would become.

In the next photo, you can see the mountains becoming more visible with thicker cloud formations forming.

IMG_20220325_131707.jpg

Yet, right above us, the clouds were still relatively thin as can be seen in the next two photos.

IMG_20220325_131728.jpg

IMG_20220325_131805.jpg

The rock formation in the next two photos is always an indication to us that we are now really close to Harrismith.

IMG-20220328-WA0011.jpg

IMG-20220328-WA0013.jpg

And that's it for today, folks!

Thank you for reading my post. I do appreciate it!

Sort:  

With such great cloud shots, you should enter @tobetada's #LoveTheClouds contest that he is running approximately once per month or so.
!ALIVE

Thank you for the kind words, I do appreciate it, @ana-maria! And I will definitely have a look at the contest you are talking about...it sounds very interesting👍!

@jacoalberts! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ana-maria. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you for the tokens! I do appreciate them!

Some amazing pictures my friend
@jacoalberts thanks for sharing
Have the best day 😎
!ALIVE

Thank you, @benthomaswwd! I'm glad you liked it👍!

Wow awesome photos! Mobile phones have evolved to replace digital cameras. Road trips are tiring but fun. Thanks for sharing about your experience. I do wish we could travel again locally. In due time, I guess.
Happy midweek!


Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @iamraincrystal - Moderator/Alive Video Master
_
This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #AliveAndThriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving.
!hivebits

Thank you for the kind words, @iamraincrystal! Yes, it's amazing to see the quality of the photos we can take with our mobile phones these days.

I do wish that you can travel again soon. It would be nice to see your photos too!
!ALIVE

@aliveandthriving! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @jacoalberts. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

@jacoalberts! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (1/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you for the tokens! I do appreciate them!

The cloud formation is like leading you into a beautiful place. ;)

Thank you for sharing such a positive thought! I like that, thank you!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you for the encouragement and for the support! I really do appreciate it!