Day 1 Lesson 1 || My e-commerce Journey

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

How to make some money? That was the question The Hubs and I went back and forth with. With his pay cuts since March 2020, the repercussions have finally taken their toll. Yes, there's the blogging and vlogging, but HODL doesn't quite put food on the table or pay the bills, does it? Now what?!

Friends suggested cooking/food to sell. After all, every other person was doing it to keep their heads above water. But who am I kidding?!! I am no cook. If not food, then?

IMG_8410.JPG

FASHION

Something I have been harbouring for some time, having grown up with a seamstress mother, altering most of my clothes in my teens/20s to fit and be unique, taking a fashion diploma in my 30s to be either a window-dresser or a fashion buyer; now I can put all this to the test. No lies, I am rusty and have some reservations having been introduced to sustainable living... So I laid out my cards on the table to take a look at the big picture.

And that's the story to why I am now selling pre-loved clothes(mine first) while I work on some #slowfashion or home-sewn as opposed to fast fashion and mass production. That's my balance and besides who doesn't like being OOAK (one-of-a-kind) eh.

I started yesterday by posting on IG and FB, just to reach out to my friends first. The algo isn't going to favour me anytime soon, since I have been very quiet on both platforms but one step at a time. I may have always shied away from sales or marketing but it is what it is and I will learn something new.

Then I started checking different apps and sites that would be compatible and found Poshmark, Depop (that's just been bought over by Etsy), Preloved, FB Marketplace, there are so many. I decided to try Carousell, suggested by a friend. I signed up late last night.

Now for the first lesson in my journey and how quickly it came. Signed up, read up a couple of things, woke this morning, got chores out of the way and started. My second item had an interested buyer within seconds.

What?!! Woot! Woot!!

The buyer asked to communicate via WhatsApp because he wanted to clarify a couple of things. Anything for the first sale right?

We ding donged for a bit, exchanged details, and then he tells me the money had been transferred and I should check my email for confirmation.

IMG_8400.jpg

And that's part of the email's content. MY excitement led me right in and I guess this is what they hoped for along with some naivete. Except, my legs have been pulled enough times over the years. I tried to give him (it could be a her too of course but probably a them) the benefit of the doubt but I could tell that he was now going to accuse me of keeping his money if he saw any sign of weakness.

IMG_8414.JPG
Well, that's one lesson learnt. From here on, everything will be done via the app so there's none of this BS. Of course, I figured that out after this little escapade.

Nevertheless, for that brief moment, I was so excited, I wish I could bottle it up. It was kind of worth the idiot wasting my time (by the way that number has been suspended on the app, guess I wasn't the only one). Well, gotta be prepared for these cockroaches creeping out of the woodwork every now and then. Cancel that thought... go away bad juju!!

So wish me luck Hivers. And if you want to check out my page, here it is https://www.carousell.com.my/sh33_is/
I only have 3 items right now, but I am excited to see where this will take me.

Thank you for reading,
sh33la

Sort:  

Best of luck on the new venture!

Wish you luck and success in your new venture.
Life hasn't been easy for many of us around the globe.
I am glad you have got started somewhere don't let this little set back keep you down.
Sending you prayers and good wishes. Sophie🤞

Thank you @sofs-su 😄
I have been toying with this idea for the longest time... but on a much bigger scale
Now, I am happy with this and I am all set to put that sewing machine I got like 3 years ago to use :D
Thank you thank you bless you ❤️

Waiting to see how you would change the winds of fashion with that sewing machine of yours.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much for the support :D

very happy to see your POB account growing Sheela!
just dont neglect to stake all your liquid POB for more influence


Posted via proofofbrain.io

And all thanks to you ;D

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Thank you :D

UGH, I hate it when people try and take advantage of other people who are struggling. Class solidarity, people. You're not scamming Jeff Bezos, here.
Good luck with your sales!

hahaha, yeah go get that guy Bezos guy haha

Hey, thank you so much @faeriestories 😊

Best choice keep it up

I just came to check this out! What a great idea.
You know what has been supersuccessful for people as well is to take used clothing and make them into something new and exciting.
I am sure you would be great doing that!

I am working on upcycling
Practising right now

Just so you know, it is you who started me this path of being less wasteful, so thank you :D

That makes me happy. I am sure you will come up with some awesome stuff. You are so creative! I will try to share pics if I come across some pieces I like for your inspiration :)

Thank you so much for the encouragement @mariannewest
❤️❤️❤️