You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What are Hive's chances for survival?

in Proof of Brain2 years ago (edited)

I've had pockets of "meh", mostly when the steem/hive breakaway happened.
Some of what I had come to understand of the blockchain was shaken and I had to wrap my head around all the betrayals, finger-pointing, the choice of one over other... all that jazz.

I also wondered when some of my favourites left or became less active (read that as you and Marianne too). However, over time I got to know more Hivers that I could connect with.
This place is not perfect but there are some pretty amazing peeps here and that keeps me here for now :D
I also like that I don't have to stick to one thing, I like dabbling with different topics - didn't someones say Variety Is The Spice Of Life? :D

And I allow myself time off if need be, it keeps the burnout at bay

Sort:  

I think you really nailed the individual responsibility!!!!
I think the same way - (and yes i missed you too - but other things connected us in that season and then since you and others were still here - i had a home to come back to! hehehe)

but now - what about the Hive responsibility part?

what do you think is the way that we attract and keep the good kind of users?

i'm really struggling with that part hahahaa

From my experience, I brought friends and family in - I'm the only one still swimming
They stopped for reasons like not getting enough engagement and upvotes - but that happens even in centralised. You have to make your rounds first and connect. You have to give as much as you want back, initially perhaps even more (we've been there)
Some already have their connections on fb, ig...here they need to start from scratch with people they don't know.

I think the ones who have kept through it are the ones who enjoy creating or have made connections. And if they have them both - they are in a good place.

How to keep the good users... I want to say not the money but I think money will definitely make it harder for them to leave, not all but most. Also of course appreciation for their work.
At the same time, there must be a part of them that want to be here. So many good ones have left... but if they are not feeling it then...
There are many things here already that can attract the good ones and keep them here - it takes two to tango.

ps: I am just reading all the comments, I too want to know :D