You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Burning the Evidence

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

If my only goal is to maximize my percentage ownership of all POB, I should support burn posts, and tell everyone to send a percentage of their POB to @null but not do so myself. Burning shifts the reward in a sense from author rewards to a kind of staking reward, where large holders, like myself, get a benefit for the mere act of holding the POB coin. That is, even if I don't vote at all, I benefit from the supply not growing so fast. You' re totally right about it not being "proof of brain."

It also means however a tiny amount of less rewards for posting, and curating (both in overall percentage and POB). Fortunately the difference is minimal.

I think it's been two months since POB was launched. This means the annual inflation rate should be 650% over the next twelve months. In other words, neglecting the burns, in a year from now the supply will be 7.5 times the size of what it is now.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Interesting points.

I'll throw out a rough hypothetical then based on the current numbers this morning.
441,000 (Total supply today incl. burned) * 7.5 = 3,307,500
Current burn percentage = 0.25%
0.25% of 3,307,500 = 8268.75

As I mentioned in the post, I'm no mathematician. Can you see any other contributing factors which would decrease or increase the burn percentage from its current percentage of 0.25%?


Posted via proofofbrain.io