Some Thoughts on Culture and Lions

in Proof of Brain4 months ago (edited)

I admire ancient European cities with their amazing art and architecture, both of which in some way are emblematic of the character of the people who inhabited those places at the time of their creation. Art and architecture have played an important role in directing the biophysical, social, and somatic energies of the population towards a common goal, viewpoint, course of action, etc. Design aesthetics, for instance, used to be influenced by a sense of the beauty of God and creation during the middle ages or the grandeur of man and nature during the Renaissance. European cities used to demonstrate strength, bravery, and courage through the use of different symbols such as the lion- the fierce warrior and brave king of the jungle. It stands proud, ready to defend and pounce on his enemies, as any loyal citizen would should the need arise.

Naturally, the lion as a symbol of strength and courage made its way towards the colonies in the new world. It is a symbol that you can find in many major urban centers in the Americas from north to south. In our city, we have several lions, like the ones guarding the Lionsgate Bridge. Very cool lions. I was downtown the other day when I came across this particular one in the following photograph.

Downtown_West_Side0002 (2).jpg

I stood there looking at it and to be honest, I wasn't feeling it. I couldn't put my finger on it. His face is too chill. Dare I say, stoned? He doesn't look like a fierce warrior ready for action but more like someone who's trying to decide what kind of munchies he's going to get. And what's up with the shield? It's kind of small and has a flower on it. Not very intimidating. His paw is crooked at an angle in a diva pose.

It gets worse.

If you look at it from the side, the lion has its left paw raised and ready to... do what exactly? That's the limpest wrist I've ever seen on a lion. Not to mention the emaciated look of the creature.

Downtown_West_Side0001 (2).jpg

Suffice it to say that I did not feel the brave spirit of the lion in my chest, instead I felt the need to go home, smoke weed, and have some cold pizza. I think this lion in some ways captures the character of our city as a den of hedonism nestled on the hazy lazy Pacific shores.


Images by @litguru

X
Instagram
NFT Showroom Gallery
InLeo Threads

Sort:  

You're right about the paw...makes the lion look like a kitten begging for a snack :))

Playful hungry kitten 😸

untitled.gif

As if holding a shield with his paw? Is there a symbol on the shield? Maybe the symbol of the city or the institution in front of which it is located?

It's hard to tell, it looks like a rose. 🌹

I didn't know all that and it's great that you told me about it. I love lions!❤️

I'm just being a funny guy 😅

🤣🤣🤣🤣