Why you should choose Hive over centralized Social media platforms.

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

InShot_20210903_191831839.jpg

Few days ago a Facebook friend of mine who also equals as a freelance writer and a website broker, conducted a poll on his timeline, to know which social media platform people are most active on.

As expected, most people mentioned the mainstream social media platforms such as, Facebook, Instagram, Tiktok, Tweeter etc. I, on the other hand, simply whispered the little four letter word, Hive, which is better known for it sweet content that is guarded by an army of stingers than for being a social media platform.

Maybe both (Bee-hive and hive.blog) are similar in a way. Don't they all have sweet contents that we all are trying so hard to extract?

It was interesting how a Lone Ranger; which I was at that moment, got all the attention.

Yeah! My little whisper was the highlight of the poll. This claim of mine, was evidence in my friend's apparent amazement, which I'm sure was due to the fact that I was the only one who commented with such a name. Out of curiosity he asked for the reason I chose Hive over other platforms.

I gave him quite a number of reasons which I will love to elaborate on.


Why use Hive?

Protection of your personal data

Many centralized platform do ask for a little too much of your personal information inorder for you to get an account with them. Selling of those data is quite a lucrative business, and many social media platforms are guilty of this intrusive act. They sell your information to firms who in turn use them for several reasons; the chiefest being advertisements. Products and services that you have affinity for or you once had, would be displayed on your timeline, because your data have been sold to those firms, who now bug the life out of you, by displaying all kinds of wares before your eyes.

Some of those ads can become quite irritating especially when they are incessant; and that is always the case.

So if you're someone who likes privacy, you have to be careful of the information you put out on centralized social media platforms, because the handlers will waste no time in selling those information out.

This digital hooliganism is what made Bruce Schneier, a computer security expert to make the statement below;

“Don’t make the mistake of thinking you’re Facebook’s customer, you’re not – you’re the product. Its customers are the advertisers".

The statement was popularized by CNN's Jake Tapper through a tweet he published on his Tweeter handle, @jaketapper, on the 21st of March 2018, at the height of scandal over harvesting Facebook user data for political targeting.

Can you see the rationality in that quote?

It makes a whole lot of sense to me.

Look at it this way;

since you are the product, it's no big deal selling you out to the advertisers who are the real customers.

A decentralized platform like Hive wouldn't do that to your data. Your data are protected here.

Content protection

Just incase you don't know this; Facebook for example, have ownership of the content you post on its site. They sell your contents to bidders. If you must post there, ensure that the content was previously posted elsewhere, like on a personal blog or on a decentralized platform like Hive, where you retain the ownership and control of your contents.

A friend of mine had to learn this lesson the hard way. He has been putting up quality contents on Facebook, when he eventually got a personal blog and wanted to use the same content there, it was marked as another's. He carried out a quick search, only to find the same post in another person's blog with high AdSense.

That wouldn't have been the case if the post was published on a decentralized platform like Hive. He would've still maintained the ownership of his content. Here on Hive, apart from the token we gather by posting here, Hive also enables us to safe our contents.

Crypto Education

Crypto has been proclaimed as the future of finance. And the statement holds a whole lot of water if we are to consider the evolution of money from barter till digitalization.

Over the years, a more secured, a less burdensome and a more efficient way of storing assets and carrying out transactions have been adopted. The present age is clearly tilting towards digitalization. In that case crypto which is powered by blockchain technology becomes its life, considering the security apparatus of blockchain technology.

That makes crypto education not to be a luxury but a necessity.

However, learning of crypto is a herculean task for many persons, myself inclusive.
I heard of crypto for many years but I couldn't afford the time to learn its ropes.

Save for belonging to a crypto community of this nature, where I learn of crypto through interacting with other community members, I would've perhaps remained a crypto illiterate till date.

One of the vital reason to belong to a platform like Hive is to learn of crypto in an easy and less expensive manner

Blogging/Writing skill

Personally, I have been writing, creating and publishing contents as long as I can remember. But I recently came close to attending a professional status. Thanks to all the lesson learned by being on a crypto blogging space.

Here professionalism is encouraged.

Prior to belonging a platform of this nature, I didn't know how to source for free images online, neither did I know how to give credit to the source of images imbedded in my contents. I still have in my phone gallery samples of phone text animation video I made for people in my days of ignorant, with images with watermark. What a shame!

I can introduce myself as a blogger and a writer today, but I started off on a crypto blogging space months back without knowing jack about blogging.

I have learned some life-changing lessons and skills at little or no cost just.

Means of Earning

This is perhaps the biggest of all. I'm sure most of us came here for this particular reason. A lot of us might not have made the kind of money we envisage, but the future looks promising.

With Hive blockchain increasing its utility as the goes by, the value of hive token is likely to follow suit.

What clearly stands Hive out, as a matter of fact, is its engine, which enables smart contract, thereby offering the users of the blockchain a chance of earning, utilizing and even building other tokens on the blockchain.

A user of the blockchain have the potential of earning multiple tokens created on Hive engine.



This is a detailed version of the reasons I gave my friend, which can act as blueprint for you, should you for some reasons decide to give an answer to a person that questions your allegiance to the platform.

Was my friend impressed?

Let him answer you in the screenshot below.

Screenshot_20210827-160608_2.png


This write up is not limited to Hive.blog, but to a hive; a community of people who protects your assets; intellectually or otherwise, educate and challenges you to grow, while also bringing you profits with the potential of multiplying such gain in due course.

Now that you understand me; let me leave you with a deep motivating line.

when you find a Hive, grow in it, grow with it and contribute to its growth.



I've found it

c9578cbe676f651afaee0b1469502667b297107684458df54c2499d4b6661958.0.gif

  • I have found a hive in my earthly family.

  • I found a hive in the now defunct Uptrennd University that was initiated by @dreemsteem.

  • I have found a hive in Hive.blog.

  • I have found a hive in the proof of brain community?

I have found a hive..........

Have you found it? Tell me where and when.



This is my entry for POB-WOTW contest created by @calumam, currently manned by @scholaris.
Image Source 1and 2
Merge and edited using Inshot app.
Emoji was created using Bitmoji.

Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Hive.blog is one of the best platform so far because of it ability to help you in keeping all your contents just like you said.

In the process of learning we also earn , anyone who wants see the positive side of hive must be persistence.

With the little time I've been active here, I've come across so many things here and I got to have more knowledge about cryptocurrency through the interaction we have with people.

Hive is indeed a wide blockchain with different communities, that's where it's beauty lies, giving our ideas to people in each of this community.

When I first join hive.blog, even as a blogger before, everything looks like a magic and so strange to me, but when I get to know how it works, then I conclude within myself that hive is the best place for me, I choose it over other blockchain. I love the way everything is better done here.

Yeah I could see the passion you have for hive and I must say you're persistence to it, I got to see your post via @dreemport.
Keep on hiving buddy!

Thanks Mary for stopping by and for your kind words.

I believe we all one or two good thing to say about Hive


Posted via proofofbrain.io

They sell your information to firms who in turn use them for several reasons; the chiefest being advertisements. Products and services that you have affinity for or you once had, would be displayed on your timeline, because your data have been sold to those firms, who now bug the life out of you, by displaying all kinds of wares before your eyes.

I am sorry but I need this information to sell too 🤪🤪

He carried out a quick search, only to find the same post in another person's blog with high AdSense.

Wow.... It's a selfish world, and the selfish succeed (in Barbie's aunt's voice) 😴

What clearly stands Hive out, as a matter of fact, is its engine, which enables smart contract, thereby offering the users of the blockchain a chance of earning, utilizing and even building other tokens on the blockchain.

I can proudly walk on my street with no care in the world because I know a hive that I belong to

Yes, I have found my Hive too 🥺


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You know I want you to rich, so I can freely give out my data to you. So that when you make the money, we can share. How about that? Fair right?

Wow.... It's a selfish world, and the selfish succeed (in Barbie's aunt's voice) 😴

Do you wanna succeed? I know you'll say, yes. Going by this assertion what does that imply? 😂

I can proudly walk on my street with no care in the world because I know a hive that I belong to

Quite nice. But look road ooo, before......

Yes, I have found my Hive too 🥺

Lovely.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Loading...

What a nice piece. I mean this is an eyer opener.
I didn't know all these about centralized social media platforms, thank you for sharing @mmykel.
Oh! And I have found a hive in proof of brain and free writers community.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

It's self evidence. Facebook is worst. Even your messenger isn't safe. Discuss with your friend about wedding gown in your inbox, next thing you'll see on your timeline is an advert of wedding gown. Lol.

That's how they make their money, though the platform is free.

Oh! And I have found a hive in proof of brain and free writers community.

That's lovely. Enjoy all the benefits.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you once again for the tips


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You're welcome @whiteangey. And thank you for visiting my blog.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

It's my pleasure!🤝

Fa(c)ke book and the likes have never been of interest to me.
I used it for a while to be on certain knowledge groups
But why waste time on fake when you can Hive the real thing?
They sell you, follow you, disrespect your privacy and slowly try to dictate terms to you.
I quit FB 13 years ago.
I've found my hive here. POB is my special cell.

I love the play on words.

We have a better deal here.

Good to see you around.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks for this wonderful piece of information I never knew about this but guess what you just made my day with this information I think I will try and check it out


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks for this wonderful piece of information I never knew about this but guess what you just made my day with this information I think I will try and check it out

Definitely this is very wonderful and an advice that comes with class mate


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Definitely this is very wonderful and an advice that comes with class mate.

Thanks dear @houseofdavid of kind words.

I don't think I understand what you mean by "comes with a classmate"


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks for this wonderful piece of information I never knew about this but guess what you just made my day with this information I think I will try and check it out

Definitely this is very wonderful and an advice that comes with class mate

Perfect view too mate


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks for kind words. You should please do check it out.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Amazing. I couldn't agree less with you in those whole issues.. the block chain has more advantages and more security than the so called centralized platforms

So if you're someone who likes privacy, you have to be careful of the information you put out on centralized social media platforms, because the handlers will waste no time in selling those information out.

This is actually a very intense offense. Selling someone's work without the person's consent. And in most cases there's always no evidence of the real owner. Terrible.

Can you see the rationality in that quote?

It getting clearer. Not the customers but the product. Ignorance is really expensive.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Amazing. I couldn't agree less with you in those whole issues.. the block chain has more advantages and more security than the so called centralized platforms.

The advantages are quite obvious. Thanks for seeing reasons with me.

This is actually a very intense offense. Selling someone's work without the person's consent. And in most cases there's always no evidence of the real owner. Terrible.

Quite a great offense. There was a lawsuit against Mark as it relates to infringement on people's data. You should know that the rich and popular always have a way of wiggling themselves out of the arm of the law.

It getting clearer. Not the customers but the product. Ignorance is really expensive.

Quite expensive. Thanks for knowledge, that's it's cure.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

This is certainly a winner, in my opinion! Hehe.

Very detailed and informative. You captured in brilliant highlights what the Hive blockchain community is all about and the advantages it has against other social media. I'd recommend your post for any prospective user of Hive.

Nicely done. 🙂

This is certainly a winner, in my opinion! Hehe.

And your opinion means a lot to me. It's like my idol telling me that I have done well. You that feeling? That's what your comment just gave me. 😀

I'd recommend your post for any prospective user of Hive.

Nicely done. 🙂

Thanks for such amazing words. It means a lot.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Congratulations @mmykel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.
You got more than 700 replies.
Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Quick feedback
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!

I missed powering up 1st September, i put my hive in savings, after withdrawing it took three days from 1st to get it back.

I will power up today anyways. It's sad that I lost out of the reward.

Don't @mmykel and keep going up with this nice energy! 😊👍

Thanks @hivebuzz. I'm keeping it up.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I could be wrong, but I guess Hive is everything other social media platforms should be and they can't.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You ain't wrong. You're a wise agent afterall. Lol


Posted via proofofbrain.io

All really great reasons to belong to Hive. If I wasn't already here, you would have convinced me! Great arguments, clearly enunciated. Onwards and upwards :-)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I think the act of persuasion is one of my strongest point. 😂

Thanks for stopping friend.


Posted via proofofbrain.io