How I Made $50,000 In Crypto Last Year

image.png

I had a crypto portfolio worth $3,500 at the end of last year, but I thought my portfolio was worth $2,000 because I didn't know my Hive coins existed. I produced a lot of content on Steemit in 2018 and 2019 and earned a significant amount of Steem. However, when the Steem price dropped to $0.13, I stopped producing content in the crypto world and started using all my time to write sci-fi stories and novels.

In February, when the price of Steem went over 30 cents, I started producing content on Steemit again. By the way, I became aware of my Hive coins.

4,000 of my Hive coins were liquid. Since I didn't know the Hive blockchain and the Hive community, I sold them for 30 cents per coin. I also started to sell the locked ones as they were revealed by power down. Meanwhile, I was producing content on both Steemit and Hive. Content standards were higher in Hive. On the other hand, the curation mechanism worked better.

In 2018-2019, I had the trouble of only having Steem in my portfolio. This time I was determined to diversify my portfolio. I sold a significant part of the Steem coins, taking advantage of the opportunity of the price rise above 1 dollar, and started making DEFI investments on BSC. During the price recession in May, half of my DEFI investments were in stable coins. So I was less affected by the price drop.

In July, prices decreased significantly. Meanwhile, I got to know Hive better and started to believe in its potential. So I bought 10,000 Hive for 30 cents. I even bought some Steem for 25 cents, because at that time peanut.nutbox DEFI was giving Steem a 100 percent return.

As of July 21, prices in the crypto market began to rise. The value of my portfolio, which consists mainly of Hive, Steem, Ethereum, and BNB has increased significantly.

I saw these new price spikes as an opportunity to sell my Steems and used the funds I provided to develop my portfolio of Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Hive. Over time, I firmly believed in the potential of Hive and started to produce content exclusive to Hive. I also purchased 1,000 additional Hive and used this amount to develop my Hive power by leasing.

By October, crypto prices had risen, and almost all of my trades, large and small, were successful. My portfolio, which was 3,500 USD at the beginning of the year, had increased to 35,000 USD. It worked well that I spent all my time producing content and improving myself on crypto. By the way, I can say that my yearly income from producing content is around $5,000. The growth in my portfolio was mainly driven by the price rise of cryptos and successful trades.

They say curiosity kills the cat. During the year, I used over 20 DEFI applications on 6 different blockchains and made dozens of experiments on crypto trading. By the way, I didn't care enough about the security aspect. A total of $13,000 in crypto money was stolen from my portfolio on the DEFI side in 2 separate incidents. On both occasions, I looked for cigarettes in the house. Good thing I couldn't find any, or I could be smoking right now.

Due to the theft cases, my portfolio decreased to around $20,000 at the beginning of November. It meant that all my efforts during this year had been in vain. My Steems and Hives would have been worth that much if I didn't do anything.

The demoralization I experienced due to the thefts was short-lived. The number of mistakes that could be made in the crypto world was limited. I had already done most of it. The worst thing that could have happened to me was getting discouraged.

A few days later, Hive Punks was announced. I bought 2000 Hive on Binance and used this fund to buy 100 Hive Punks. One of the Punks I bought was quite rare. By selling it for 10,000 Hive, I have more than compensated for my loss due to the theft.

On November 23, the Hive price started to rise again and stabilized between $1.50 and $2. Even though I sent the cost of the extra purchases I made during the year to my bank account, my crypto portfolio is still worth $54,000 and two-thirds of it consists of Hive ecosystem assets.

There were times when things went well or badly during my crypto adventure. As the law of large numbers indicates, a balance occurs over time between lucky and unlucky events. In the long run, it is the effort that determines the result. I am happy that my hard work paid off in 2021.

I hope 2022 will be a good year for all of us.

Thank you for reading.

Image Source: https://unsplash.com/photos/lGB8j50arHk

Sort:  

I used over 20 DEFI applications on 6 different blockchains and made dozens of experiments on crypto trading.

That's, I believe, the major reason that you are doing great! Many people do not dare to explore new products or blockchains to see what's being served there. I did it for AVAX by buying from $3.80 and made nice gains by following the updates on the chain.

Similarly, Hive has an important place in my portfolio. Considering its strengths against recent dumps, we may double the price with another bullish trend in the mid term IMO 💪🏼

I was interested when I heard that the gentleman who created AVAX was Turkish. After that day I postponed to make research on AVAX again and again. So I missed the opportunity. Glad to hear that you caught the AVAX bull run. Hive stands strong. It does not catch a cold when the market sneezes.😊

Öncelikle senin adına çok sevimdim. Bahsettiğin dönemlerde pizza restoranları işletiyordum. Evlilikle beraber buralardan biraz uzaklaştım. Üzerine pandemi gelince restoran sektörü sarsıldı. Bu yüzden iş değiştirmek durumunda kaldım. Kötü tecrübelerden dolayı, sürekli korunaklı alanlarda kalmaya çalıştım. Bu sayede çok büyük getirileri kaçırdığım gibi çok büyük dolandırıcılık olaylarındanda kurtulmuş oldum. Yani hırsızlık olaylarına rağmen girişimlerin sonuç vermiş görünüyor :) 2022 yine bize fırsatlar sunacak, ve muhtemelen biz yine buralarda olacağız,değerlendirme fırsatı yakalayacağız. Başarılarının devamını diliyorum.

Okuduğumda ben burada yokken neler olmuş özetini gördüm. Genel olarak iyi kalpli ve azimli çalışanlarınızın kazandığını görüyor ve seviniyorum.

Teşekkürler güzel dileklerin için. 👍 Bakalım 2022 neler getirecek. 🚀

Wow! This was a good read because it sounded adventurous and stuff. Always great to read about someone moving on to a better position after a big loss.

Cheers to a beautiful 2022, playa👍

I decided to tell this real story because it has twists:) Cheers 🚀

Umarim bir gun sadece Hive'dan devam edersin :)

Olabilir aslında. Hem finansal anlamda, hem de içerik üretme anlamında zaten %90 oranında Hive'a kaymış durumdayım. Tümüyle bu tarafa odaklanayım, konsantrasyonum hiç bölünmesin.

Wow, friend this is freaking awesome. You made this sound so easy and fairly tale but I am sure you had worked out so hard and strong for this. Even after your $13,000 theft incident, you continued to thrive and excel ahead. Very inspiring and motivating, Crypto sounds fun after seeing such achievements. Wish you more success ahead. Keep sharing the wisdom dear. Have a good day 😊🙏. !PIZZA

Thank you 🙏🚀

Thank you for sharing your story.

A total of $13,000 in crypto money was stolen from my portfolio on the DEFI side in 2 separate incidents.

I’m glad you have bounced back from misfortunes ! So congratulations 👏

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you!

You have an interesting Crypto journey and a good reward to show for it.

I started my crypto journey July this year and I'm already glad I did, I'm looking forward to a more proming next year.

Cryptocurreny!!! I'm here to stay.

What an interesting story! Keep going!
My journey since 2016 is quite a crazy One as well.
I started with Zero investment and amazed how much I actually have now in various wallets.
Cryptospace is my place!

Thank you! Cryptospace is my place too :)

Truly inspiring story. Love your resilience despite the loss you suffered along the way. Many opportunities in hive. I also hope for better 2022

Excellent work! I am looking forward to next years update. 😁

😃 I marked it on my calendar. Hope to have something strange to tell🚀

So sorry to hear about the theft incidents! Also a huge relief to see that you were able to soldier through and overcome the loss :)

Would you mind sharing a little bit about how that happened and what someone new to Hive and crypto, in general, can do to minimize that happening to them? I know the usual "protect your info" type stuff, but it seems like there are always new ways sneaky people use to try to gain access to our wallets.

Sometimes, I worry that holding crypt rather than periodically cashing out at certain limits would make me a target down the road.

This post that I shared my recommandations about security can help: https://hive.blog/hive-150329/@muratkbesiroglu/safety-tips-for-metamask-wallets

Thanks for this, much appreciated!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

This is quite awesome and inspiring, thanks for sharing as we look forward to a successful 2022

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Wow that's quite a story, wish you luck for 2022...

What a journey! I am glad you made your own luck.

Thank you!

Wow!
A stressful up and down year. I also lost money on defi and wallet hacks, so I feel your pain for those experiences. Thankfully you were able to profit from Hive Punks! So your year ended well.
Good Luck in 2022!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Great story..

People need to know that it is not always rosy here on crypto

Information is vital

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@vikbuddy(1/5) tipped @muratkbesiroglu (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @muratkbesiroglu! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 8500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 8750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - 1000 Hive Power Delegation Winner
Merry Christmas - Challenge Feedback - Win a 1000 HP delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for sharing.... Really helpful for a newbie like me.

I love it! I'm so glad you shared all of the story. I woke up in February, as I remember it, to a dogecoin price of about $0.06 and I knew I had mined and bought a ton of dogecoin back in 2017. I logged into my account and sold all my doge for bitcoin. At the height, I had turned about $1000 or less into about $7K. Not wanting to cash out of crypto, I bought a couple thousand in Hive when it was about $0.40/hive. I found dlease and started leasing out HP. Then someone told me about the Hive-engine. I was completely oblivious! All of a sudden, I had tons of coins I'd never heard of before!!! long story shorter, I turned about $2-3K in Hive to about $10K. I also use dlease for SteemPower and have turned about $1K into $2K. I did actually cash out some of the proceeds from that dogecoin sell, but I'm excited for this year that's coming. I see big things happening. I just recently bought over 0.5 million LVL coins in anticipation of Psyber-x coming live in a few months. I've never tried defi...or at least if I did, I didn't know I did. I just started participating in beeswap pools...I think that's what it is called...and I'm seeing the rewards and enjoying them :)

Good luck to you this next year. I hope you see $250K this time next year!

Thank you! I hope so!