You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curation Station (Proof of Brain)

Thank you for sharing your perspective and views @scholaris, especially with respect to voting. I also spend a lot of time curating articles, mostly because I thoroughly enjoy the experience of reading the diverse works of others and engaging with them when I find something truly meaningful or of personal interest. I try to curate as widely as possible, out of a personal interest to broaden my own growth and learning opportunities, to find new authors across a diverse range of mediums and communities, and to give value to the delegations that I have been blessed with recently. I see those delegations as a responsibility to the community to do the right thing. To read widely and reward diversely. You are so right when you say "quality is in the eye of the beholder" and at @nonsonwrites.pob talks about his personal effort, in this regard, to incorporate a focus on "author's effort". In managing my curation responsibilities I have also reduced the value of each upvote to a large extent, in order to reach more people, although I do give 100% upvotes (but my VP value is not as high as you both). I also use my vote to encourage those who I can see are putting in oodles of time and effort, even if their actual writing and structure are not quite there yet for me. By upvoting and engaging with them, highlighting areas that I enjoyed about their creative piece, and perhaps dropping in some gentle words from a personal perspective on what I would have loved to have seen more of in their work as a reader. It is up to them to find value or not in my feedback. I am curating more in the Inkwell (using my CCC delegation) and trying to read all of the WOTW articles each week. I upvote based on a combination of what I can objectively deem to be quality (in the vein of WOTW grading), and what I can objectively perceive to have required a lot of effort and time (even if the author has struggled with language, presentation, structure etc). I also curate in the Alive tribe as I have a few weeks delegation of Alive tokens left. The bulk of my delegation is however in Hive power and it is this that I hope to distribute as fairly as possible between as many people as possible. To this end, I support the dreemport curation project, the comet ranker project, and regularly support Prof. Trost's Gradnium and Proofofblind projects. I also have my favourite authors whom I follow and curate, my monthly contest for new Hivers where I pick up new people to follow and support each month, and then I do some random curation of creative works, articles, artwork, music etc. The end goal, to give back to the community as fairly and responsibly as possible to give as many people as possible the opportunity to succeed as writers on the blockchain, through both social and financial capital gains. It is quite the balancing act ... and somewhere in amongst all this, I need to find time for my own writing ;-)