You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Announcement of My Intent to File a Future Proposal Regarding ‘Rules for Downvoting’ in the Proof-of-Brain Tribe

I feel the same way. I want to protect the group, but I don’t know there’s anyway I can do to identify plagiarism and notify everyone for a consensus before that individual is stopped or received rewards.

I had an instance yesterday of someone plagiarizing images for some time. Over a dozen times. I was able to DV one image that was just about to pay out.

There is no way I can have the time to catch it all before a thief gets rewarded. At this time, I’ve talked to HW, SFR, and marky about different techniques or tactics to efficiently identify these acts.

At this time, reporting suspicious posts and manual verification are by far the best methods. Checker tools are not always effective.

So, for every post now I DV I include the suspicion, the passage I identify, and the article link. In my most recent DV I also included the referenced article passage.

Finally I post the article to the spam abuse channel for review.

Honestly friend, I’m all ears for suggestions. Please, if you and the community think consensus method for DV against plagiarism is worthwhile I will do it and will not regret doing so. I feel, however, it will overwhelm us.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

I certainly would not take the ability for an individual to downvote, though. I also hate it when people suggest going onto discord as a "solution." If something is wrong in the community, there should be a way to address it within the community, otherwise, why don't we all just give this hive thing up and go and make posts on discord? Just like we have witnesses, I don't see why there couldn't be a Downvoting board elected to be notified when someone is violating the community's guidelines, but the community first needs to come into agreement on guidelines. If the downvoting group gets out of hand, we could "vote them off the island" much like representatives...like people appointed judges with terms, but no term limits. You'll never be able to outsmart the cheats because people will always find a way to cheat, but we can mitigate it...I am thinking very much in terms of separation of powers in my thoughts regarding a Downvoting board...but they'd have to be compensated and we'd have to be able to flag the perpetrators...I think YouTube and Facebook have teams that do similar work for posts on their sites.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you very much. I like your ideas. It’s been made pretty obvious to me at this point now how the system can be circumvented. The best we can do is work together against it.