Ending a 23 or 24 year old abusive relationship.

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

ebay.jpeg


It matters not what it is.


If it gets abusive I gladly walk away.

I have been on ebay since the mid to late naughty nineties.
What started out as fun has turned into a bureaucratic nightmare.
I must admit I started off as a buyer.
It was a great place to find good top quality used hi-end hi-fi at super low prices.
Before ebay I was selling on a UK site. It is long gone now, swallowed by competition and shuttered.
My brother bought an IT company you see. He sold me the entire software library including windows 95 licenses for £100, I went on to sell c++ floppy discs and windows 95 around the globe.
It was back in the good ole days of cheques. Or checks as the Americans like to call them, remember them?

I made a killing with all that software, it was piled up to the ceiling in multiple rooms.

I digress, back to evilbay as I now call it.


Well it started as fun ebay, I did manage to live in Thailand for a decade on and off just by selling knock off or copy designer goods from there. I also sold valve amplifiers. Yaquin was the make.
At one time I had the single largest shop on ebay. Before they started charging a monthly subscription to have one that is.

Like any corporation ebay became abusive.

It went from free shops, to as I said subscription.
Then they raised the fees to 10%, then they even took that 10% fee from our postage as they say a minority were abusing no fees on postage.

But what broke the camels back? Or my back?

Well since Brexit happened they now charge my UK customers 20% VAT on all purchases. The UK was my top market.
I sell classic 2 stroke motorbike parts you see. Just for something to do.

A couple of weeks ago I sold a new old stock motorcycle fairing to a gent in France.
They charged him 20% VAT too so I called them and asked them why - As I am listed as selling from Poland and France is in the EU.

They said because my account was opened in the UK.
I then asked why they were charging my UK customers 20% VAT, they said because I am selling from Poland.
Confused? I was. This is like as we say in the UK "having your cake and eating it" You can not have it both ways. But they do.


freedom.jpeg


Over the years they forced many things on us sellers.


Paypal was thrust upon us, use it or else, and give paypal a cut of your sales.
Then it was deemed that as a seller you could not say a bad word or leave a negative comment about abusive or non paying buyers.

Now you have to use the ebay payment option not paypal, they delay your payment for up to 4 days yet you and I are expected to pay to post an item you sold before even getting the postage money, let alone the money for the item.

Abusive powers know no boundaries.

The feeling of freedom from leaving ebay is amazing.
I no longer have to wait to see if some buyer has turned nasty, left me a negative knowing I can not retaliate.

I no longer have the pressure to post, no longer have to wait in for UPS to collect a package.

Yes I have a gazillion parts around me. They can stay. Ebay can go. Good riddance to the abusive partner.

Like any relationship or anything we do, there has to be a mutual understanding, a mutual respect.
Ebay just like governments have over stepped the mark.

I bid them farewell with some good memories behind me, the bitter taste they left in my mouth at the end will stay forever.

If you are in any form of abusive relationship I say end it. No matter what it is. It is no good for your health.

Have a superb week, be free as a bird. Live long and prosper. How ever you can.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Honestly this post cracked me up. Maybe it's the title of the post. But then, I see your valid points. Walk away pls if you are no longer getting the desired service and satisfaction. 😂


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I have, I removed everything off that site. When you have had enough you truly have. I have had enough of them.
Cheers friend.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

From my own perspective having your own freedom is very important no matter what is involve.if you are in any abusive relationship in this group pls find a way to have that freedom because of the future.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Indeed, be free as a bird. :-)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

There's no point staying in an abusive relationship, is not worth all the time and energy. Being in an abusive relationship is like being in a cage. You keep being afraid of the unknown.

Imagine being in hell while you are on earth OMG... 😱 you won't think of a better life my dear. You took the best decision.

You took the best decision by walking away.
You took the best decision by choosing freedom.
You took the best decision by affirmation that you are worth more than what your partner thought you worth.
I hope you find true love. Be hopeful and I wish you all the best.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I'm waiting for an ebay-like site that takes crypto exclusively. Ebay would die hard and I would move. I have also sold a ton on ebay... and I am not looking forward to my next stint on ebay based on what you are saying.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I have been working with some people to make it happen, but they also have full time jobs. Maybe I need to pay them to leave the jobs to get this done. Trying my best to make it happen.

What a hell of a story. It really imbibed a certain feeling of emotion on me. Ending such a long long relationship will surely hurt. But as long as it frees you from a negative vibe and energy, Then it's really worth it.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

It took me this long to finally read this. I left it on my tabs procrastinating. Even when I closed all tabs, I kept saying I have to read this

It's nice there was a time when ebay wasn't abusive. At the time when they began to be abusive, it was a good choice to walk away

I was totally confused about the part where they charged your customer 20% VAT regardless of which Country your account was listed in

I hope that anyone who is in an abusive relationship would do themselves a favor and walk away sane


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks for reading, you gave me a nice smile then. Have a superb day.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Another reason to Hive...sad that these platforms are going that was but better for use here. Perhaps a market place Frontend would be helpful. Like ListHive but more refined.

I am looking into a way to make a crypto market place, been trying for 6 months or more. We will get there in the end.
Cheers new friend.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Agorist market? or on blockchain?

Unsure as yet.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I would be interested in helping with such a project.

I am thinking app based as so many young people love phones, any good with apps?

Dapp....and mobile app....no I am not good with those but really good at thinking and layout.

The feeling of freedom from leaving ebay is amazing.
I no longer have to wait to see if some buyer has turned nasty, left me a negative knowing I can not retaliate.

OOOhhh !!!! it's ebay - not Hive - that you're talking about ! lol

LOL you of little hive faith.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

There are three countries that have never used eBay. Thankfully nz is one of them. We have trade me. The one time I used eBay over 10 years ago I was gobsmacked how bad it was.

We have allegro here. It is like ebay without the drawbacks.
But if you want worldwide ebay has the monopoly.
It has got worse every year for 20 years. Now it is for me unusable.


Posted via proofofbrain.io