Communication is all about "understanding, empathy, and clarity".

in Proof of Brain29 days ago

My journey on #Hive began on a wrong note. What supposed to be an easy ride, met with some language barrier issue. Something which I was not aware of. It was such a tough phase that once, I was about to leave the space. But then for whom? To those who find my writing not upto their standard. Yes that was initial struggling days, where one user raised concern on my way of writing. Infact there was nothing wrong, with the content. They had concern on the way of my sentence formation. What I was highlighted that my way of writing does not fits the US audience. That day I realized that people have differrnt way of presenting things.

20240404_225904.jpg
(own edited image)

I knew that US and UK have differrnt acssent. They differ in many way from speaking to pronunciation. And that what made many people to struggle in understanding. But as far as my case was concerned, I have a neutral standing. Not having English as mother tongue, we faced adapting to this language. But slowly we English a part of life. And now many people prefer to talk or chit -chat forgetting their original mother tongue. Language alwsys created certain barrier in communication. To explain the meaning of communication , we can be put in following easy words :

Communication is a two-way process of exchanging information between people using a common system of signs, symbols, or behaviors.

India is a rich country with multi language people. We have many regional language, which were not yet been noticed, nor people find comfortable in speaking. I again faced a challenging time once I shifted back to my native place. The people are more accustomed to the local language and I am not aware of it. I find it pretty difficult to speak or put up my thoughts. These people were not conversant with Hindi or English. So my communication with the people always remain incomplete. Many people belive that, communication is achieved when the recipient receives and understands the message and acts on it. This what made my life quite challenging and still facing tough situation.

20240404_230041.jpg
(own edited image)

Thanks to different online translator available today, we able to translate things from one language to another easily. Even on this platform, I have seen user taking help of translator and making their content. They even publish them in dual languages to bring clarity of their audience. This is how the innovative technology making life easier for different people. The technology is simply removing all the boundaries and help bringing together. But at the ground level, we do not have such option of translator. We always rly of human translator to communicate. In begining I took help of my cousin but slowly adapted a little.

The main purpose of communication is to express our views on thoughts to other. There are generally four ways of making communication possible. These are oral, non-oral, visual and written communication. No matter how we communicate, start by thinking about what the reader/listener should think, feel and do once they've heard or read our message. Communication has its own rules, but the best way to communicate with others is simply to be yourself. After all, you already know how best to convey things.

This is my entry to Day 4 of Inleo Writing prompt for the m/o April.

Peace!!

Namaste @steemflow

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Communication is indeed a two way thing and as such, when one is speaking, even if the English is not perfect, it is still possible to understand the message being passed.
Unfortunately, sometimes people are bent on getting the perfect arrangement of words or sentences or even spellings and would disturb you, forgetting that English is not your mother tongue.

That's true....that what happened to me, ...there are difderent way of presenting things..but rather than making embrass other it is good to motivate them...

https://inleo.io/threads/steemflow/re-steemflow-4pyufsgx
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( steemflow ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Certainly being oneself is the most important thing, and that the person we communicate with understands exactly what we want to express, that we know how to do it, but the first thing is fundamental. Good night!✨

ooh i also use translator to sometimes talk to people. It's definitely great and I'm not sure what I would do without it ; ; . Sometimes though it doesn't translate right so that is an issue.

and you're right it's best to be ourselves don't try to be something we aren't