Some Real Outrageous Events Observed In The Recent Past || POB Word of the Week : Outrageous #009

Untitled design - 2021-06-08T235651.848.png

An instant thought came to my mind when I read the POB-WOTW this time and I knew what I had to write. It was like that moment of truth for me, there were so many thoughts prevailing in my mind which I was not expressing aloud; maybe due to lack of courage or I was being ignorant.

But the WOTW contest intrigued me to express my inner thoughts this time. I must say, for me, this post was created in a full outrageous mode.

I'm going to talk about some major events that took place in my country over a period of time. These events weren't only outrageous but also democratically wrong and sometimes, inhuman.

Volleyball is a famous ball game sport played on the court. Here's a brief history of the game. (1).png

  1. Demonetization - On 8th November 2016, the Indian Government announced a permanent ban on all 500 and 1000 Rupee notes with immediate effect. Some grace period was given to the citizens to deposit their cash into the banks to avoid losing their money. The intent of the activity was to curb the flow of black money in the market but it actually led to a situation where the poor turned poorer and the rich remained unaffected.
  2. Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Amendment Act - This was an amendment to the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act 1967. This was a major setback to human rights. Under the amendment act, the government body can term any citizen as a terrorist without having to mention any reasons and the citizen would be considered guilty until he proves himself right. This was used to curb the freedom of speech of the activists and the journalists in the nation.
  3. Censorship on the Internet in J&K - Severe restrictions were imposed on the broadband and mobile internet by the Government to prevent the deliberately fabricated falsehood on social media. In Jan 2020, broadband restrictions were removed, still barring the use of Social Media. Imagine living n a world without Internet? People losing their source of income, no communication, no entertainment.
  4. Citizenship Amendment Act - This act amends the Indian citizenship act to accept illegal migrants who are Hindu, Sikh, Jain, Parsi, Buddhist, and Christian from Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Pakistan, and who entered India before 2014, following the religious persecutions. The catch here is that the act doesn't mention the Muslim and Tibetan community which forms a major population of our nation. This led to huge protests in Assam, Delhi, Meghalaya and other north eastern states. Innocent people lost their lives and the authorities chose to remain silent. What a shame!
  5. Nationwide Lockdown - Nationwide lockdown was announced by the Central Government amidst the growing number of Corona cases in the country. The move was a huge setback to the migrant laborers and those working away from their families and hometowns. People were rendered homeless, jobless; some retorted to suicide. It was an instant decision, announced without any prior information and no time was allowed for the workers to return to their native places. A pure inhuman act it was.
  6. New Farm Laws - 3 new farm laws were introduced with the goal to protect the interest of the farmers. However, the consequences of these laws actually stood in the way of those farmers who retorted to nationwide silent protests by jamming the borders. Again, there was a complete lull over the protest by the government bodies and no steps were taken to resolve their concerns.
  7. Last but not least, the recent Wtsapp Traceability Clause - Wtsapp was pushed to locate the originator of any communication in the social media platform which is not only a privacy breach for the individual but also a bit damp to the right to speech and expression.

And guess what's even more outrageous; as a citizen, tolerating all of these laws and rules dictated by the authorities.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

I wasn't the only one to think of outrageous as a perfect synonym for Government/country politics! Unbelievably sad, isn't it? I liked your article! Good luck in the contest!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You are not alone, I feel you! And I think lot of us do. It’s just that as a single person you can’t do much about it so you tend to ignore.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Why do the authorities always make things harder for the citizens?
They feel they can just wake up one day and change or implement things, rules, laws just because they are in power?
I can only imagine how this made you feel and even your fellow citizens.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yes that's correct. Power gets to the head and normal citizens can't do much about it.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yes that's correct. Power gets to the head and normal citizens can't do much about it.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Outrageous is a perfect word to talk about politics (I believe anywhere in the world... just changing the level of intensity).

Here in Brazil... This word fits like a glove to talk not only about politics, inclusively.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That's correct. Politics came to my mind as soon as I heard this word. And I believe it's not only with my country but everywhere. The word politics in itself is nasty.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Very well researched and presented. I would add a request for your future work. I couldn't help but wonder about other opinions on the laws you discussed.

I wanted to learn more. I needed to know more. If possible, consider adding some references to your discussions. It would have allowed us to see different opinions on your point of view. Of course, I'm just speaking for myself.

Thank you again.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you so much for your kind words. If you are interested, I will share with you some links where you can find more information and opinions. There are many you tube videos as well around these topics.

And trust me, these are not the only issues. I have highlighted only the major ones. There are so many other issues prevailing in our country right now. Like the oil prices. They are all-time low throughout the world but all-time high in our country. We are paying almost 65% takes on crude oil. If I go for a full tank, the price I pay is double what I used to pay an year back. And again, no one to listen to the common man.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

the government body can term any citizen as a terrorist without having to mention any reasons and the citizen would be considered guilty until he proves himself right.

This is total inhumanity. I think the world is turning into something else as the day go by. New dictatorial laws are being out in place to the detriment of all.
The government find fun in deprivation of the citizens right which is unfair.

In Jan 2020, broadband restrictions were removed, still barring the use of Social Media. Imagine living n a world without Internet? People losing their source of income, no communication, no entertainment.

I can feel the pain you know! Just my mom grounding me from using my phone for a day could get me sick.
The internet is just everything in our today's existence but then imagining getting deprived of that is one hell of an experience.
You guys would get through it in your country as soon as you act fast. I know they no longer give listening ears but can't the government be changed over there??


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yes it can be changed but only after 5 years. We don't have the freedom to openly point out on them. Some of the policy changes mentioend above take away the right from the common man to raise their voices. As an individual, I'm scared. What if they put me behind the bars. I have a family to take care off. And hence I keep shut. Like me, millions of voices are shut. But we all feel it deep down.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I can relate! So sorry for what you guys are going through over there.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Hi @sugandhaseth By law of life there must be a government, "because a world without government before so many aspirants and malicious minds, what our life would be like" but it is definitely not fair to be at the mercy of the decisions made by a group of people. that humanity seems to have gone to hell. They commit heinous acts and those affected are the people who work hard every day.

  • undoubtedly the stereotype of politics in much of the world is: outrageous

Posted via proofofbrain.io

There always has to be a governing body, i agree. But that body is supposed to protect the rights of the people and support them. But these one seem to be creating more problems for us.

Great response, There has been some many acts and laws being brought in around the world and they for sure do not have the people's interests at heart. I a saddened to hear what is happening in India, thank you for informing me as it is so hard to know what to believe ad the media hardly ever shares the truth with us anymore xxx


Posted via proofofbrain.io

The media is apparently sold off to the ruling party. So it's the least trustworthy source of information according to me. I have stopped watching the news or reading newspapers because I can't trust them anyhow. I rather prefer websites like ScoopWhoop and follow a few journalist friends to stay updated..

Too sad that dumping their rupee only brought more disaster.. I believe no one will submit their currency to the bank if such law is enforced


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That's what we want but not something we can do. money has to go to the bak no matter what. Everyone suffers when you have such a government body.

Yeah, such government becomes a torture.