Toddler Feeding

Hello Mommies!

My mom always used to say that I can have the time of my life while my child is breastfeeding, once he starts to eat other things my life would not remain the same.

I kind of agree to this point now, most of my friends tell me the same that their child is not eating properly or is very choosy or just fills the food in his mouth but won't swallow. But luckily, I never faced this situation. My baby eats properly and on time without many cries or shouts. And also, he eats just everything I feed him. I guess it was only Papaya shake that he didn't like and refused to eat but that's ok because papaya shake is mostly liked by none.

Untitled design - 2021-06-17T122203.364.png

Most likely, I've been lucky to have a child like this who doesn't show tantrums while eating but honestly, I have been following certain techniques as well that have helped me ease my life.

  1. Never force-feed your child. It's never like the clock ticks 2 and he must be fed. Can we eat according to a clock? No, right. So give them food when they are hungry. And you will know when they actually are. It's ok if someday they are skipping meals, even we do that.
  2. Give your child a mix of sweet and savory. Most children prefer eating sweets, who doesn't. And mommies out of our love keep offering them the same. But we forget that this will restrict their feeding habits. So offer them sweets but not more than one meal a day. You can chose to ignore sweet food completely on a single day but savory is must for them and should not be skipped. Form a habit like this and then they won't throw any kind of tantrums while having usual food.
  3. Whatever you are eating, let them taste even if it is a bit spicy. They will anyways get exposed to everything very soon so why not start from the beginning. This helps to develop a fine taste and also reduces the curiosity to eat food items other than what they are being served because apparently, they have eaten it all already.
  4. Don't show then TV or Mobile phones while feeding. Now this one is the most important. While they are eating, they should only hear from you. You can talk to them or sing them poems. But if you start showing them TV or mobile phones to ease out your work, they will never eat without technology going forward. Once you do it, you will have to do it always.

Sharing some pictures of Raag enjoying food.

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-17 at 12.28.16.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-17 at 12.28.15 (3).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-17 at 12.28.15 (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-17 at 12.28.15 (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-17 at 12.28.15.jpeg

I hope these tips will add some value to the new mommies who are struggling each day with their children. Child management is a task in itself, I wonder why is there not a course around it yet, LOL.

Have a great day!


Posted via proofofbrain.io