You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I helped save a Soldiers future

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

WOW! Thank you everyone for the upvote and thank you for the reblog @gasaeightyfive . As always, thank you for your support as well @cmplxty . I have another situation ongoing in the military and I'm wondering how to go about it. Two of my previous Soldiers that used to be under my command reached out to me that they were getting deployed to Iraq. Just recently they let me know they are depressed and having a hard time in this unit. If I get their address, would this community support by sending them letters and telling them how awesome they are? OR Should I write a post about them and share all the support in the comments? Just looking to see what you all say about it. Here's the convo exchange.
sm2.png

sm3.png

Furthermore, I did reply to this in the comments but to answer any question someone may have about the Soldier who tested positive. I make it a point to get to know each of my Soldiers, their background, about what they are currently doing and what they want to do in the future. This Soldier was such a good kid and if it wasn't for him already having good character and integrity before this I it would have been a different story. By this point I had known him for 2 years and he was the type of kid that would drop or give you everything he had to make sure you would be all set. The commander coming in didn't know this, so she didn't agree with me until she saw it for herself. That's why she sent me that text. Truly amazing individual, unfortunately he was young and impressionable and so his friends took advantage of that.

Sort:  

I would see if they would be willing to give a mailing address for wherever they are. I would love to send them a letter of appreciation and we would try and send a small care package as a thank you.

Maybe a post in the weekend or the pew community could help? Both would be good spots for it, to see if we could gather some support.

By the way, there's no o in my name, you had a typo there so I didn't get tagged lol

I was wondering why you were ignoring me lol. That's a good idea, I heard the pew community was very military friendly.