You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Explore Writing

To be able to write faster.

I can't find the right words to express my thoughts fast enough. It usually takes me from 4 hours to 2 days to write a post.

My intro post actually took me 1 full week to finish. 😅 There is a big improvement as compared before but I am now hitting a wall - progress is getting slower.

English is not my main language and I used to dislike any of kind writing - I am more of a number person in the past. 😊

Sort:  

OH dear, you put a lot of pressure on yourself. Do you know stress can actually slow your thinking processes?

Have you ever tried just sitting down with pen and paper, taking a few deep breaths, letting yourself relax and then pick the pen up and just put words down. Any words, who cares if they are related.

Just write down words until you just can't bring any more to mind. no crossing words out, no correcting words. Anything goes, it's free fall from your mind to the paper.

Write in the language you are comfortable with.

Explore the words. You've just done free writing. You can set yourself a time limit if you wish or just let it flow until you think it's all you can think of.

You may surprise yourself at the thoughts and ideas that just flowed easily from your mind because you weren't trying to squeeze them out. You may discover some themes you wouldn't mind writing about.

Writing is a craft. It's not a craft that can be forced. You can prime the pump with exercises like that.

Write until you're happy in your language ... then translate.

Hang in there and be kind to you.

Do you know stress can actually slow your thinking processes?

I thought of that sometimes so I usually go for a short walk to lessen the stress. But most of times, the pressure to produce some output makes me forget about it.

I will take on your advise and start on paper first. I am more comfortable in English when writing (but not when speaking) as we've been used/forced to use it to write at school and work.

Thanks for taking your time giving me this useful advice. 😊

I'll be curious to hear how you make out. Hang in there.