Butterfly Frenzy

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

Autumn is on and about and insects are gathering the last nectar

On an ivy bush I had to stop and look at these beautiful butterflies. They were gathering nectar from its flowers (although they do not look like flowers) with their long "tongues" which they can curl up. There were at least half a dozen on this bush and they didn't seem to be particularly disturbed by my presence. The also seemed to enjoy the warmth of the sun as they soaked up its rays with their dark pigments. Up close they look quite alien. Somewhat furry, their eyes lizard like...

While it is a common butterfly here, it is nevertheless very beautiful and I wonder what they do in winter. Do they have a home? Do they still lay some eggs? Or do they die? But then I wonder why they are still gathering nectar... If you know let me know!

photo_2021-10-02_16-33-26.jpg

photo_2021-10-02_16-33-28.jpg

photo_2021-10-02_16-33-22.jpg

photo_2021-10-02_16-33-22a.jpg

Bottom.jpg

⛅🌦🌧🌦🌧🌨☁🌩🌦⛅🌧☁🌤🌥🌪🌧🌨🌩⛅🌦☁🌤🌥🌤⛅🌤⛅🌦⛅

lovetheclouds_community_banner.jpg

Check out the Love The Clouds Community if you share the love for clouds!

⛅🌦🌧🌦🌧🌨☁🌩🌦⛅🌧☁🌤🌥🌪🌧🌨🌩⛅🌦☁🌤🌥🌤⛅🌤⛅🌦⛅

Bottom.jpg

Sort:  

You have very tender feelings
I love these photos very, very much!
I love butterflies ...
Hairpins, shirts ... I buy anything that has a butterfly

oh how lovely! yes they are amazing insects 😊😍

Good one and I will give that a try

How come they have almost the same color? I love that red designs on the outer side of it's wings. I don't know bit I think it is pleasing to see since it has less colors with majority being black/brown.

their patterns are almost identical (but in this case it's because it is the same one 😅)

Haha, I gotch ya!😊👍

Hello I liked your publication, I love butterflies especially their colors, and about the question you asked, as far as I know they are not collecting nectar, they are feeding, and preparing the place to lay their eggs.

okay that makes sense! Do you know if they survive winter? (it gets below freezing here)

Hi @tobetada, here we only have a rainy period and a dry period. I have also wondered where all those butterflies go when it rains.

Congratulations @tobetada! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 1300 posts.
Your next target is to reach 1400 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more