Studio update 76 - im trying to make my own magic eye

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

You all remember Magic Eye right?
My mom found this book and gave it to me.

9780836270174.jpeg

The picture kind of looks like an abstract painting doesn't it?

What if I could hide secret 3-d shapes and messages inside of my abstract paintings?

The concept of that would be SO on point with what Im interested in, in how the truth is hidden in plain sight and the nature of government coverups.
It would be a good way for my work to have a political conversation, without being too direct.

So i was painting this yesterday and thought, "hey that kind of looks like a QR code"

IMG_6758.JPG

So i took it into photoshop and attempted to follow along with a tutorial for making Stereograms / Autostereograms using MS paint. So i had to translate the instructions from MS paint to Photoshop, which didn't end up being THAT hard.

Stereogram  Autostereogram Tutorial_Page_1.jpg

so this the stereogram I made. The shape that is supposed to float is actually the white shape in the painting, which made it THAT much more confusing to detect/look at.

2.jpg

Untitled-5-Recovered.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

This is my stereogram. the earlier ones work better.... I need to try again to make the image appear in the correct spot. But basically you are using your brain to observe the glitch in the mechanics of the eye noticing the difference between 3 images and 1 that is 6 pixels to the left...

Here are a bunch of cool stereograms that I found. I considered trying to meticulously paint one of these but computers are necessary because you move a section of the picture 6 pixels to the left to create this illusion.

helicoidal.jpeg

beachball.jpeg

stereogram2.jpeg

stereogram4.jpeg

cartao_passaros.jpeg

I will try again soon.

webgnar.png
hemp paste.png


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

nice. it says Telos. good job. you used a generator though im trying to make the pattern from scratch kid lol

art is fraud

life without art would suck

I love these effects! The key is to make a silhouette shape of whatever image you want and that is what you can feed into them. Getting the depth effect to work right is tricky but can be done! I love these stereographic illusions and look forward to seeing your creations.