Exclusive: My Video Interview with a Philosopher from the Netherlands 🇳🇱

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

img_7274.png


As a published author, it’s always rewarding to reach a new audience. So, I was grateful, recently, to be contacted by a Dutch thinker — Minke Tromp — inviting me for an online interview.

Tromp is, also, an anthropologist and founder of the Black Sheep : an online platform for people who are misunderstood and ignored so often that they lose faith in themselves and humanity.


image.png


Through this community, Tromp aspires to encourage her audience to have a positive impact on the world and help people see their true potential when it comes to the art of thinking.

To achieve this goal, Minke conducts interviews --more free-wheeling exchanges, really-- with thoughtful individuals whose ideas can contribute to the community, which is why I was invited :)


img_7263.png


Our interview was a lively, informal talk, lasting around half an hour, and as wide-ranging as a spontaneous, intelligent conversation at a party.


img_7271.png


Video footage is shared within the Black Sheep Community and in courses Tromp teaches.

Below, is a teaser of our interview where we explore truth in opposites and the wisdom that can be found in literature and spirituality:


You can find out more about my work, here

Thank you, for your interest and support 🙏


flyer_use.png

Sort:  

Hi Yahia,

Cool to have found this ( and your blog ). I watched the whole interview, highly interesting in many ways.

The name Minke Tromp rings a bell and I have often felt like a black sheep myself as well as like a philosoraptor, so I love what she is doing!

Greetings from a Dutch writer living in Portugal, who used to be a filmmaker.

Congrats, on escaping the system and discovering crypto, fellow independent thinker! It's nice to e-meet. Exciting that you're a Dutch writer and have heard of Minke :)

You seem more well-rounded than I am, as a creative individual. While I've worked on films, as a writer, I've never created them. Impressive! Thanks, for your encouraging words, regarding my talk. I hope to know you better over time and that my posts continue to keep you good company.

Brave New Week around the bend :)

Cheers, @vincentnijman ✌️

Thank you!

More well-rounded, I don't know about that :<)

In all honesty, I have always been creative. My parents expected me to go to University, and film studies / film theory seemed the most creative subject that I could pick. After years of hardly making any money as a filmmaker, post Uni and a bunch of years as a teacher working myself towards burnout and depression, I managed to indeed escape, find crypto, move countries and get back to writing ( not necessarily in that order ).

I might still get back to filmmaking in the near future but for now writing will make do ;<)

Looking forward to getting to know you and your work better, over time :<)

All the best!

Thanks, for your trust, brother, in sharing your story 🙏

Typically, there's not much money in art, we do it for the passion. But, it's nice when it pays off, and I'm happy for you that you found crypto and a way to return to writing.

This seems like a time for new possibilities and I wish for you what I wish for myself: the ability to make the most of our changing world while remaining true to yourself.

Thank you!

This seems like a time for new possibilities and I wish for you what I wish for myself: the ability to make the most of our changing world while remaining true to yourself.

The last part of this sentence of you is key: remaining true to ourselves under constant change.

I agree. As does Ralph Waldo Emerson :

It is easy in the world to live after the world's opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Yay! Thanks, for your support :)


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you 😊