A very bitchy cat/ Una gata muy perra - 3 part Weekend Freewrite/ Un cuento de escritura libre

friends-1149841_960_720.webp
Friends by Free-Photos in Pixabay

A very bitchy cat


I went out to investigate the mysterious disappearance of my cat Carlota, I hadn't seen her for days and it was suspicious that she showed no signs of life. Maurice told me that Dr. Hoffman had kept the corpse in a polished wooden box, a sort of substitute coffin, but I didn't believe him because he always invents stories of dead people and apparitions as a way of relating to everyone he knows.

However, and although I was reluctant to believe him, Carlota was still a no-show and Dr. Hoffman is so eccentric that he could very easily be a laid-back cat-killer. But... a polished wooden box as a coffin? Seemed like overkill to me. If he had told me he took the cat as a guinea pig to experiment with who knows what craziness, it would have been more plausible, to me... But a polished wooden box as a coffin?


I always felt protected in this housing center, I preferred the suburbs and not the big city. This was the reason we had lived here. But, now I wasn't so sure it was for the best. We all know each other, without really knowing each other, because even though we see each other almost every day, no one can say for sure who anyone is or what they are capable of.

That's why I insist on looking for Carlota, I can't get it into my head or my heart that any of those people I come across every day would be capable of harming a defenseless animal.
Although, instinctively, my steps always stop along the route that leads to Dr. Hoffman's house, I only hope to hear the familiar meows reaching me in the opposite direction.


Today, I went out ready to knock on the door of Dr. Hoffman's house hoping to get out of doubt to undertake other search routes if the mystery is not solved.

But, when the old man showed his face and the sun illuminated his pupils, I knew immediately that he was not capable of harming even a fly. He invited me in and, though frightened, I dared and my surprise was truly overwhelming when I saw Carlota like a fish on table.

No, she wasn't dead, she was licking her well relaxed paw, lying down with two blind puppies suckling from her udders. She hid her pregnancy from me and moved to another house to give birth!



cat-323262_960_720.webp
Cat by TeamK in Pixabay

Una gata muy perra


Salí a investigar la misteriosa desaparición de mi gata Carlota, tenía días que no la veía y era sospechoso que no diera señales de vida. Maurice me dijo que el Dr. Hoffman había guardado el cadáver en una caja de madera pulida, una especie de ataúd sustituto, pero yo no le di crédito porque él siempre inventa historias de muertos y aparecidos como una forma de relacionarse con todos sus conocidos.

Sin embargo, y aunque me resistía a creerle, Carlota seguía sin aparecer y el Dr. Hoffman dicen que es tan excéntrico que muy fácilmente pudiera ser un mata gatos relajado. Pero… ¿caja de madera pulida como ataúd? Me pareció exagerado. Si me hubiera dicho que tomó al gato como conejillo de indias para experimentar quién sabe qué locura, hubiera sido más verosímil, para mí… Pero, ¿una caja de madera pulida como ataúd?


Siempre me sentí protegida en este centro habitacional, prefería los suburbios y no la gran ciudad. Ésta era la razón por la que habíamos vivido aquí. Pero, ahora ya no estaba tan segura que fuera lo mejor. Todos nos conocemos, sin conocernos en realidad, porque aunque nos veamos casi a diario, nadie puede decir a ciencia cierta quién es cada quién o de qué es capaz.

Por eso, insisto en buscar a Carlota, no termino de meter en mi cabeza ni en mi corazón que alguna de esas personas que me cruzo a diario sea capaz de hacerle daño a un animalito indefenso.
Aunque, instintivamente, mis pasos siempre van a parar por la ruta que lleva a la casa del Dr. Hoffman, yo sólo espero oír los maullidos conocidos alcanzarme en un sentido opuesto.


Hoy, salí dispuesta a tocar la puerta de la casa del Dr. Hoffman esperando salir de dudas para emprender otras rutas de búsquedas si no se resuelve el misterio.

Pero, cuando el anciano asomó su cara y el sol iluminó sus pupilas, supe de inmediato que él no era capaz de dañar ni a una mosca. Me invitó a pasar y, aunque asustada, me atreví y mi sorpresa fue realmente abrumadora cuando vi a Carlota como un pez en la mesa

No, no estaba muerta, estaba lamiendo su pata bien relajada, recostada con dos cachorritos ciegos mamando de sus ubres. La muy maldita me ocultó su embarazo y ¡se mudó a parir a otra casa!


image.png

36811967_10216651620944235_8001620619017846784_n .png


@zeleiracordero-2
12/06/2021

This is my entry to @mariannewest 's 3 part Weekend Freewrite challenge on Saturdays, 5 minutes per prompt. In my entry, the prompts are in bold. These three-part freewrites are especially interesting to write for me. I hope this one turned out fun./

Esta es mi entrada a @mariannewest 's desafío freewrite en tres partes de los sábados, 5 minutos por indicación. En mi entrada, las indicaciones están en negrita. Estas escrituras libres en tres partes son especialmente interesantes de escribir para mí. Espero que ésta haya resultado divertida.

Sort:  

Congratulations @zeleiracordero-2! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD
You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP