Sort:  

I found it quite tiring and I didn't do any running at all! Everyone played really well, and it was a great first outing for the Riverkicks, I thought. As for beliefs, there are as many beliefs as there are druids, who are often happy to argue about them. And then argue some more. What's a bit more interesting is what music they listen to. Hmm, I feel a #TTT coming on...

I wasn't sure what to expect from the druids. They seemed a nice bunch. I'm not too spiritual, but the place had a nice vibe.

Thanks for setting it up. I'll be checking out your post soon.

!HUG

Dear @daniellemurray, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @steevc.
(1/3)

Dude, River Kicks is such a good name for a band!

The light-up sticks are a cool idea, especially for the dim area. There was a cool guy I used to follow on Twitch and he rigged up light-up tops for his drumkit and would essentially put a light show on while playing.

I love Raggle Taggle Gypsy, it's such a great song. You've got a good voice for it man, and to be able to sing while playing is kickass. I had a punk band when I was in my teens and I played bass and sang, which was handy because all the songs were 3 cords haha, but I found it so tough.

Fairplay mate, keep rocking, looking forward to hearing some of the gig recordings if any go up.

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@killerwot just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @steevc.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Cheers. I'm enjoying the drumming and tried to add a little showbiz to it. Those sticks are some sort of strong, clear plastic and have a real bounce to them. That is good on the Yamaha as the pads are a bit hard and unforgiving, but it felt different to wooden sticks. I am hoping there is some video so I can see how it looked.

I have done plenty of singing and playing guitar, so I have developed the ability to multitask. I generally keep the drumming simple for now, but I want to work on adding more fills and other details. There are a couple of songs where I experiment more, but I need to make it work for the rest of the band. Maybe they will let me have a solo some time :)

!BEER

Too right man, a drum solo would be kickass. SteevStix

Ahh sure if you're not too comfortable with fills yet just stick to the straight forward rythm. But, if you have a couple of songs you can have some fun with and do fills on that's good, so at least you're building youself up.

Our old drummer would experiment a lot with fills during rehearsals, but then as we played live he'd hold back a lot and it was kind of annoying because we knew he was capable of it, and we'd go into the gigs ready to give it socks, but without the drums it made us have to tone back.


Hey @killerwot, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

If you like BEER and want to support us please consider voting @louis.witness on HIVE and on HIVE Engine.

Well it was certainly different and I enjoyed being out in the fresh air for the afternoon.

Forgive me if I chuckle, a bunch of druids in the forest sparked thoughts of naked ness and witchcraft dark satanic cults, enjoying black sabbath.

I guess I am way off the mark!
Kudos to you

There was no nakedness that I saw, but who knows what goes on when they are alone in the woods! What people do is their own business as long as nobody is getting hurt. They didn't seem like dark wizards to me.

Ah sensible druids then

Didn't see you as a fairy lights man Steve. Gonna check out Anna's post now

Me neither.. 😄

You need a little razzle dazzle in this business and I had the lights anyway.

Good going Steve and all strength with the new band.


The dream of every musician is to make music for people.

I thought Ivan to play heavy rock but it doesn't seem more instrumental 😁.

Pd: I really like the flute in the background.


We have some great musicians and it's a pleasure to play with them. Seeing an audience enjoy the music is a real buzz.

Rock on dude! That's great, I haven't played with a band since I was in college!

I didn't do enough of that when I was young, so I'm making up for it now. I've done a load of gigs in the last few years. I don't need to worry about making money from it these days.

!BEER


Hey @thebighigg, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

If you like BEER and want to support us please consider voting @louis.witness on HIVE and on HIVE Engine.

Hello, I liked the song. I had this music as a popular Renaissance, thanks for teaching me something new. It sounds like the music they play in movies like Mr. of the Rings when they are in taverns eating and drinking

We're playing songs that would have been heard in taverns and elsewhere hundreds of years ago, but we also play newer stuff. There has always been good music to make people dance.

I had propensity to break drum sticks back when I played, so I probably wouldn't do too well with expensive light up ones! You probably don't have to strike as hard with an electronic kit though I guess. How cool that you were able to do this! I'm glad to see you are getting more comfortable with drumming.

Apparently these are made of the same material as riot shields, so they should take a beating. I've not broken any sticks yet, but then I am not playing on drums with hard metal rims. My Roland kit has plastic rims that do respond to hits, but my sticks are not even dented.

Ah, okay. That makes sense. The real question is can you spin them between your fingers yet? Riot shields! Sounds like a challenge to me!

I'll have to see if Drumeo has any twirling lessons :)

I've still got the skills. I can teach you!

That could be fun. You should do a video of your drumming for that community. Do you know all the rudiments?

I do need to learn more of the basic 'sticking'. I am considering finding a local teacher for face to face lessons, but I have plenty on Drumeo to work through.

I still remember enough to be dangerous. Some of the marching cadences we used for filler are forever stuck in my brain. I might do my first video post this week, but it isn't going to be anything with drumming.

The best thing that can happen to a band is when the audience really love your performance and I am glad that the audience loved you performance.

PS: I never knew that a drumming community existed on Hive though.

PS: I never knew that a drumming community existed on Hive though.

Well I created it a while ago :) It's pretty small, but more are welcome.

Ohhh nice!

I'm really loving the tune... I'll definitely make a remix of the drums only soon.... 🥰

I'm glad that the audience enjoyed the show and I suggest you go to see the one of you who is ill and could not come around
Nice one!

That's tricky as she is over in Ireland and I'd need to fly there.

Glad to see new members in your band. Hopefully everyone doing their best.