FungiFriday: A Most Challenging Mushroom Walk in Pidie Jaya

IMG_20220127_091126.jpg

This is my umpteenth entry for the #FungiFriday hosted by @ewkaw.

These photos were taken when I visited my grandmother in Pidie Jaya district two days ago. Yes, not far from my grandmother's house, there is a garden owned by a local resident.

The garden is overgrown with coconut trees and areca nut trees, in addition to thick shrubs covering the wire fence that surrounds the garden from pests such as wild boars and monkeys. Thus, the garden is relatively protected from the sun and the soil remains moist for a long time.

While I was snooping around looking for mushrooms on dead rotten wood, I heard someone yelling at me as if I were a thief. In a loud voice, he asked what I was doing there. I turned towards the voice. And it turns out, we already know each other.

I told him I was looking for mushrooms there. He apologized to me because he thought I was a thief. From the story, I learned that in the village recently, there has been frequent theft of livestock belonging to local residents by thieves.

After he left, I continued to look for mushrooms there. Mosquitoes are vicious; they're a damn nuisance, just stalking and swarming everywhere I move. But in the end, my struggle was not in vain. I found the frosty bonnet mushrooms (Mycena adscendens) growing in clusters on rotten coconuts that had been pierced by squirrels.

While cursing the damn mosquitoes, I kept taking as many pictures as I could. But I couldn't stand there for long, because my skin was already bruised from being bitten by mosquitoes.

Well, even so, it was the most challenging and very interesting mushroom walk I've ever done because I was almost suspected of being a cattle thief. LOL!

IMG_20220127_090222.jpg

IMG_20220127_091021.jpg

IMG_20220127_091324_1.jpg

IMG_20220127_085840.jpg

IMG_20220127_085250.jpg

IMG_20220127_084643.jpg

IMG_20220127_085814.jpg

IMG_20220127_090551.jpg

CameraXiaomi Poco X3 NFC Smartphone
LensExternal macro lens
CategoryMushroom photography
ProcessedMobile Lightroom
LocationPidie Jaya, Sumatra, Indonesia
--
Sort:  

They look like jellyfish in a water. Nice blue bokeh :)

I have to agree with you on this.. I thought jelly's too! 😁

Thank you sir 🙂

It might look that way because of the blue edit filter. 😁 Thanks @ewkaw.

Ahhhh nice trick :)


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I like how they look so translucent... Very cool shots, considering you had to fight mosquitoes at the same time! 🦟😄

Haha .. but in the end, it paid off completely. 😁 Thank you @ackhoo

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Happy Umpteenth Anniversary!

Those are some super cool super trippy looking mushrooms. Thanks for braving the mosquitos and the cattle cops.

Haha.. that's how it is. Adventure with mushrooms, sometimes together with a funny experience that is quite memorable. Thank you @corvidae 😊

Very VERY cool shots. Like @ewkaw I thought they sort of looked like Jelly Fish too. Nice edits on those shots!

Thanks for the best comment, sir.